Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Edward from Australia

Lovely location, cosy comfortable room.

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our time at this lovely family style hotel. Room was spacious, with balcony. We had problems with toiletand management tried to fix while we were there and it worked ok after this. No where to hang towels in bathroom, the towel rack fell off wall when I put towel on it so did jotnusemit anymore.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Decent Budget hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2016
The location is the best part, everything within walking distance. The hotel is old and could use a renovation, but fine for budget travel or those who do not spend too much time in the hotel room. Many of the rooms smell like cigarette smoke, whether they are 'non-smoking' or not. Our first room was like an old ashtray, and even the A/c unit seemed to blow out smoke, probably because the filter had never been changed. However the woman at the front was incredibly accommodating when we asked to switch rooms, and allowed us to check 3 other empty rooms to find one more suitable and less stuffy. It ended up being a room without a balcony as we had requested and already paid for, and we were not offered a refund at all for the difference in room price. The bathroom was fine, but no bathtub and no separate shower; instead, the toilet and shower were together with just a flimsy curtain in between. Price considered, it was fine-- not great, not terrible. It would not be my first option if returning but not ruled out completely either.
5 out of 5
by Atsushi from Global nomad

Great location

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very close to the fortress but also close to restaurants. Room was very clean and staff was very friendly. The restaurant Piccolo which is close by is phenomenal.
5 out of 5
by Marina from Sofia

Great hotel on a great location

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was very kind and helpful. The location is great, because it's near Tsarevec and the museums.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Los Angeles

Excellent value in old town VT

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
I was a little worried about how good this place could be considering how cheap it was, so I only booked one night to start. I immediately extended it to three nights once I saw my room and wish I could have stayed longer. Large and comfortable with lots of windows and nice views, even if the furniture and walk paper are a little grandma-esque. Great location, short walk to Tsarevets and to all the restaurants (Shtastliveca is excellent) and cafes. Definitely the best place I stayed in Bulgaria. PS If you like crazy Communist architecture, make sure you check out Buzludzha.
4 out of 5
by Ivan

Give it a go

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed for four nights (attending a conference nearby). The hotel is very close to the royal hill. Friendly and helpful staff, tea things in the room (a rare phenomenon in Bulgaria), as well as a chess-and-backgammon set (a touch we liked), enough electric sockets, large bathroom with tub, good breakfast. On the opposite side, the hot water ran out too fast (there wasn't enough for both of our baths), and it was rather chilly in the room until we asked for assistance with the A/C.
5 out of 5
by Arnaud from Paris

People they know what is their job !

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Pretty cosy, well located, kind personnal, confortable place : exactly all you have for a very low price. Quite easy to find a parking too.
4 out of 5
by Ivaylo from Varna

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant stay
3 out of 5
by P from Brierley Hill

Nice people but a refurb is needed.

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The people were friendly and the hotel was close to the old town and an easy walk to the main attraction of Veliko Tarnovo which is the fortress. Unfortunately it is in a run down area with many of the buildings around it empty and heading towards dereliction. The hotel itself could do with refurbishment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels