Ratings based on 1,542 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, ny

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The staff was helpful and very nice. Hotel was a bit old and had some aesthetic issues but nothing that was going to spoil ones trip. They gave us free upgrade to king suite which was great, and the location was perfect for getting around various neighborhoods in New Orleans
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed the upgrade and that you enjoyed your stay here in New Orleans. We are hoping for a full refresh in the near future, but in the meantime, we are making tweaks here and there to improve the guest experience. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Small room, terrible hotel, pool the size of a bath tub
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
I apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. Our rooms are on the cozier side due to the nature of our historic building. I also apologize that you were unhappy with the size of the rooftop hot tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice clean...friendly staff...great location. ...close walking distance to the sun attractions of N.O.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy that our location was convenient and that you enjoyed your stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hattiesburg

Awesome New Orleans charm

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Came down for a class reunion and really enjoyed how friendly the staff was. Opened the doors when we entered. They made small talk when we checked in. The rooms were nice. So overall a good experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you had a good experience with us and hope that you enjoyed your class reunion. We hope to welcome you back next time you're in New Orleans!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

I came back home with bedbug bites.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Although the hotel was in a good location and seemed clean, my family and I came back home with bed bug bites! After I quickly realized what they were I had to wash all my clothes and make sure they didn't come with me. Bed bugs are not a joke they are very difficult to get rid of once they have infested your home. Never going back there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As soon as we received your response to our internal survey on August 18, we quarantined your guest room pending an inspection from Orkin. As soon as we have the results back, we will be reaching out to you privately. Please be aware that we have received similar complaints in the past and they have typically been the result of an allergic reaction to our laundry detergent or due to mosquitoes in the general area. To date, we have not had a positive result to any bedbug inspection, but we do take these claims very seriously and investigate each one of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice spacious clean room. Polite staff. Great location. Overall satisfaction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt (Front Office Manager), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you had a good stay with us and we hope that you enjoyed your time in New Orleans!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible stay, I would never stay there again

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Might as well had no pillows, restaurant staff very unfriendly, bath tub didn't work hardly any hot water
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. I have passed your comments on to our Food & Beverage Manager. We do have a selection of pillows available to choose from at all Omni Hotels. On your next stay, please ask at check in and we can assist you with your requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to attractions

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The hotel is an older building but has a nice bar ,dining area and lobby. A little noisy when doors are closing in the hallway. We especially liked most of the shops, the French quarter and tourist stations were within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the noise that you experienced during your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They treated me like family

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The hotel management treated me like family. The hotel was clean and close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Daniel Leavitt, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to have you as a member of our Royal Crescent family!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you for your review!