Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Location Great, Rooms neat but small

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: In walking distance from the railway station on one side and the main square on the other. The view is nice in each direction.
It is a great hotel with very modern interior, in a good location. Toilet, sinks and showers have a very room saving arrangement that is tricky to use for two people. Ideal hotel for single room use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Clean, modern, great showers!
Cons: The only confusion we had was on breakfast. Booked it the first time and breakfast was included. Booked the same rate 2d time and no breakfast
Location: great location, mins walk from the train station and downtown. Many nice coffee shops and restaurants right there. Hotel is right on the river.
We liked this hotel so much on our first stay we immediately made a reservation for the way back. Very modern and clean. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia.

Excellent location. Great food. Fantastic staff.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: Location. Staff. Food. Room. The views.
Cons: There is really nothing I can think of.
Location: Location is excellent. Only a short walk from the train station. Restaurants nearby, as well as supermarkets, pharmacy etc. The views are amazing.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It is an easy 5 minute walking distance from the train station. The staff are very friendly and helpful. English was also not a problem at all. Breakfast was delicious, and the view from the terrace is amazing. The room itself was great, no problems at all. Overall I highly urge anyone coming to Villach to choose this hotel for their stay. It is located right on the river Drau and close to anything you require.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointing!

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Reception staff
Cons: The hotel needs a full redo.
The Expedia reviews had said "superb" but we found it far from that. This is a dated, dreary hotel that needs to be avoided. Stained carpets, small room and the odd architectural feature of having the shower and toilet cubicles within the room, surrounded by frosted glass did not impress. We had planned to have dinner in the dining room at the hotel but it is closed on Sundays and Mondays. The positives were the friendly reception staff, the close, inexpensive parking and the hotel's proximity to the city centre. Other than that this hotel would get a "0".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely Alps

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The hotel was very comfortable and in a great location in the centre of a beautiful little Austrian city. The air was fresh and the scenery was lovely with the mountains and the river. The staff was friendly and very quick to receive us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for walking out to bars and shops.

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, convenient parking, nice room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by us from italy

What expected

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Food was delicious. We just stayed one night and we enjoyed the time. Room was ok even that we received a room we didn't booked because we had our dog with us. Price for the dog was to high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014
Dear Jackie! Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking time to leave your impressions here. We are happy that we could account to your enjoyed stay and we also thank you for your criticism that will help to improve us. The surcharge for the dog includes the special cleaning which is needed to ensure that the room also can be used by - for example - guests with allergic reactions to dogs. But our target is it to become better every day and we would be glad to welcoming you again! Best regards, René Sulzberger, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good modern hotel on the river

Posted May 10, 2013
Nice newly built Hotel. Rooms well kept and modern. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brisbane,Australia

A very clean modern hotel with terrific facilities in the basement

Posted Oct 24, 2011
Location: The main walking street
It is right up there with the standards you would expect from a Holiday Inn but the basement holds a great Gym, Sauna and Steam bath. Massage and all other wellness facilities available. Don't have the breakfast as it is not included. Just down the road several choices for breakfast. Meals as well
2 out of 5
by Crashrecon from Santa Clarita, CA

Nice place but consider others...

Posted Aug 1, 2011
This hotel is conveniently located next to the conference center and main city center. However, the rooms have "frosted glass" enclosures around the bathroom so you better be prepared for a lack of privacy when using the shower or toilet... While the location is convenient, the AC didn't work so I opened the window to get some fresh air - when you do that, the HVAC fan will automatically turn off and, while the outside air was nice, the NOISE from the street level wasn't. Clearly it was a compromise - try to be comfortable (temperature wise) with the window open and using the privacy curtain as a "bug" net OR deal with the inside temperature possible with the poor functioning HVAC unit. I went with the window. This is probably the best choice due to the minimal options available unless you can identify a "pension" hotel that earns good marks. Many are available but cater to the German population so it can be hard to pick. The staff were friendly but overly helpful. The parking was easy but will cost you $'s and the breakfast seemed a bit overpriced. We opted for the coffee shop next door for a roll and coffee as we aren't big breakfast eaters.