Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich

central & comfortable

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: friendly staff
Cons:
Location: Klagenfurt has a very active poetry slam scene: if you're there and SlamIYC (= Slam if you can) holds an event: Go!
nice modern hotel in the old part of the beautiful town, easy to reach, close to public transportation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from klagenfurt

Fabulous hotel in perfect location.

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Very helpful staff and good rooms. Ideal for transport links to many interesting places by bus or train. All transport very efficient. The lake is beautiful. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

6 stars!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
We stayed here over Christmas and had our own little family Christmas program in our room so this spot on the earth will always bring back good memories. It's clean, unique, great staff, great breakfast. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Great location Very clean Stuff is very helpful Very good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

lovely hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel staff were very helpful, the room was spacious, clean and tidy. Within walking distance to the city centre where there was great shops and places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOndon

Weekend in Carinthia (Klagenfurt)

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Stylish and location
Cons: N/A
Location: Next to main square, lots of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants nearby. 15 mins walk to main sttaion
Very stylish hotel centrally located with large modern rooms, good breakfast choice and friendly helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houstin, TX

Nice Hotel in city centre

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Location in down town Klagenfurt
Cons: Noting
Location: See above
It is a nice hotel in city centre. All important points for both business and side seeing are in walking distance. Parking is possible for 14.5 Euro/day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mumsy from California

Sandwirth Hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Location. Quiet. Friendly. Clean. Comfortable. In tune with the local community happenings.
Cons: Restaurant pricey
Location: Close to center of shopping area and State Opera.
Delightful. Walking distance to shopping, State Opera, and park. Our friends in Klagenfurt were also very pleased and looked forward to recommending it to others. We did not try their restaurant. Spa not so great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from Lancashire, England

Very good hotel in the capital of Carinthia

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: A special mention to the breakfast staff, who remained cheerful, efficient and helpful at all times, even when the breakfast room became very busy.
Location: On edge of the city centre of Klagenfurt (so not v close to the lake). Market, shops, bars, restaurants, buses are all within easy walking distance.
We chose to stay at the Hotel Sandwirth for a few days as we were visiting friends who live just south of the central area of Klagenfurt: the hotel's location and the room price were ideal for this purpose. Although we booked only a standard room, we were allocated a very large room with ensuite facilities at the front of the hotel and found this to be extremely comfortable. In such a spacious room, we did not need to open the windows, but there can be some traffic noise in the morning if you were to choose to do so. My wife and I speak little German, but this was not a problem as the staff we encountered all seemed able to speak sufficient English for us. Breakfast for hotel guests is available in a first-floor room. The choice is wide and, whilst it is not cheap, we ate there each day of our stay and feel it represents good value, though the room (and the "overspill" room) can get rather crowded at peak times. Evening meals are not always available in the hotel: during our stay there were no restaurant meals on Saturday and Sunday evenings, but this gives opportunities to explore the centre of Klagenfurt, which seemed peaceful and with a good choice of establishments within a short walk in which to sample local, or international, cuisine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Personale cordiale, camere pulite e a 2 passi dal centro.