Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Grounds were pretty

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The grounds were lovely and the location was great. Our room didn't feel romantic and we kept waking up from the noise from the elevator and the automatic blinds. We ended up leaving a day early. Maybe this hotel is worth it if you book a room with a ocean view but overall, we did not enjoy our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin Ireland

Fab boutique hotel in a lovely seaside town!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
This is our 4th stay here and it didn't disappoint! Amazing food, views and lovely room! We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Hotel staff amazing, situation great - very close to the main centre, easy to walk around. Hotel grounds are very well kept and the hotel interior is very quirky with great art. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cacais treasure!

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
The Farol Hotel is divine! Best location in Cascais...the sushi is extraordinary!!! so is the breakfast.... and the rooms are comfortable, luxurious... LOVE THE POOL!!! excellent service... consider an invigorating, relaxing couples massage in your room! One of my best hotel stays EVER!! Five stars and more!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Boutique hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location and overall ambience.
Cons: Lunchtime food, as noted.
Location: It is a short walk to the marina with restaurants, plus the town centre is also close.
Having stayed here twice before, I knew what to expect. There have been a few changes, but overall it is just as good as I remembered. On the plus side the overall facilities and room are of a high quality. The shower in my room was excellent, and the outside terrace was most welcome as it had sun and shade in the evenings for cocktail hour. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. The choices of food at lunchtime are however quite poor; you are stuck with sushi, a full restaurant menu, or a choice of bar 'snacks'; pretty poor selection and overpriced. This needs more choice and more salads/bigger portions. The prawns for 25 euros was a particularly expensive dish for just 6 or 7 prawns and no vegetables or other accompaniment. We had issues with quality too, with chips arriving cold and soggy, and toasted sandwiches rock solid, having been left to keep hot under a grill. The pool is so cold it is virtually unusable. The practice of reserving the cabanas solely for the suites makes sense at the start of the day but once it was clear that no-one wanted to use them, they should have been released. All three were empty at least three days we were there. The umbrellas are a bit too big meaning lots of moving around to get the optimal sun/shade combo! I last stayed here two years ago, and the menu at The Mix is virtually identical. The bar is quite expensive; it would be nice to have special offers such as happy hour 2 for 1 offers for residents earlier in the evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and disappointing

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is not at five star standard. The communal areas are lovely, as is the food- both very stylishly done. However, the rooms are 3 star at best. We stayed in a garden view room and sea view room and both of these were very basic indeed, with very old fashioned bathrooms (dowdy tiles and mound around the mirror - I've seen better bathrooms in 2 star hotels!). Indeed, the sea view room had a view of the car park with the sea being in the very far distance beyond some buildings! The bedrooms were not 'design' as this hotel claims to be. Even the furniture was was flatpack, cheap rubbish. The bedrooms were exorbitant at the price and completely incongruous with the rest of the hotel. As someone who stays in five star hotels and boutique design hotels all over the world, this one simply doesn't match up.
4 out of 5
by Victoria

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Pool area is incredible for lounging with great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Almost 5 stars

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: This is in the museum quarter so plenty of things to see. The nearby park is good place to wander.
A beautiful location - hard to beat. A bit bigger than most boutique hotels we have stayed in but still very exclusive. The staff were very professional and helpful. The restaurant is worth trying out but there are also lots of lovely restaurants in walking distance. A great breakfast buffet, lunch bar and place to drink cocktails. Our only complaint was that we were treated like 'walk ins' on more than one occasion. As we were staying for 6 nights this was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Lovely hotel w very attentive staff. Just as an FYI though the range of the quality of rooms was a bit surprising. We initially had a basic garden view room which was tiny w a box sized bathroom. They very generously upgraded us the next night to a designer room which is huge in comparaison... totally different experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zuerich, Switzerland

A beautiful and well designed hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Ebookers
Cons: Lower or tighten the hotel flags during the night so that the halyard ropes don't always hit the metal poles...that's all.
Location: Good eating in old part of town, beautiful museums and galleries, wonderful park near hotel. A lot of unique and sympathetic spots to enjoy.
Breakfast buffet was excellent. The dining room view with the ocean, ships and scuba divers was very pleasant. The personnel were always willing to fulfill our special wishes.