Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Boutique hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location and overall ambience.
Cons: Lunchtime food, as noted.
Location: It is a short walk to the marina with restaurants, plus the town centre is also close.
Having stayed here twice before, I knew what to expect. There have been a few changes, but overall it is just as good as I remembered. On the plus side the overall facilities and room are of a high quality. The shower in my room was excellent, and the outside terrace was most welcome as it had sun and shade in the evenings for cocktail hour. The grounds are beautiful and well tended. The choices of food at lunchtime are however quite poor; you are stuck with sushi, a full restaurant menu, or a choice of bar 'snacks'; pretty poor selection and overpriced. This needs more choice and more salads/bigger portions. The prawns for 25 euros was a particularly expensive dish for just 6 or 7 prawns and no vegetables or other accompaniment. We had issues with quality too, with chips arriving cold and soggy, and toasted sandwiches rock solid, having been left to keep hot under a grill. The pool is so cold it is virtually unusable. The practice of reserving the cabanas solely for the suites makes sense at the start of the day but once it was clear that no-one wanted to use them, they should have been released. All three were empty at least three days we were there. The umbrellas are a bit too big meaning lots of moving around to get the optimal sun/shade combo! I last stayed here two years ago, and the menu at The Mix is virtually identical. The bar is quite expensive; it would be nice to have special offers such as happy hour 2 for 1 offers for residents earlier in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Almost 5 stars

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: This is in the museum quarter so plenty of things to see. The nearby park is good place to wander.
A beautiful location - hard to beat. A bit bigger than most boutique hotels we have stayed in but still very exclusive. The staff were very professional and helpful. The restaurant is worth trying out but there are also lots of lovely restaurants in walking distance. A great breakfast buffet, lunch bar and place to drink cocktails. Our only complaint was that we were treated like 'walk ins' on more than one occasion. As we were staying for 6 nights this was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely boutique hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Lovely hotel w very attentive staff. Just as an FYI though the range of the quality of rooms was a bit surprising. We initially had a basic garden view room which was tiny w a box sized bathroom. They very generously upgraded us the next night to a designer room which is huge in comparaison... totally different experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zuerich, Switzerland

A beautiful and well designed hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Ebookers
Cons: Lower or tighten the hotel flags during the night so that the halyard ropes don't always hit the metal poles...that's all.
Location: Good eating in old part of town, beautiful museums and galleries, wonderful park near hotel. A lot of unique and sympathetic spots to enjoy.
Breakfast buffet was excellent. The dining room view with the ocean, ships and scuba divers was very pleasant. The personnel were always willing to fulfill our special wishes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, but poor, overpriced food

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The view and the room.
Cons: The food and the administrative attitude.
Location: Lovely setting, but somewhat removed from the center.
This 5-star hotel is located outside the center of Cascais but in a lovely setting by the ocean. There is no beach, however, although the view is great. The room is very nice, though apparently without heat. The place could be highly recommended, except for one thing--the food. A breakfast, on Christmas Day no less, made me very ill with diarrhea the whole day. And my partner had two room-service meals, very overpriced and of mediocre quality. I suppose if one does not eat all of one's meals at the hotel, one could have a very enjoyable stay. However, that was not the case with us, and the management engaged in "blaming the victim" when the food incident was reported. No compensation or even an apology was offered. Quite unprofessional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Two words. Location, service

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Excellent location, quality of service and friendly staff. Although big, comfortable and clean, room start to show signs of use and calling for some renovation. Very good experience though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel with a fantastic position

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: All aspects
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Excellent and good exploring of the old town.
Enjoyed every minute of the experience. Very good facilities and fantastic restaurant especially the Sushi restaurant. Staff very accomodating and efficient. Also good ambience and interesting art work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Nov 11, 2016
The hotel is on a clif facing the ocean. Nice view. The rooms a good, not five star for sure. Reception staff are very pleasant and helpful, however the breakfast waiters are not that friendly and seem to be forced to do their job. Food quality is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Excellent service, good sushi restaurant awesome pool area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Beautiful hotel right on the water's edge

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Used the rental bikes, they could do with some TLC.
Location: Great location for beaches of Cascais and further along the coast, easy train journey to Lisbon, easy bus trip to Sintra.
Loved the location right on the shore. On the edge of Cascais centre, but an easy 10 minute walk into town. Very well kept hotel, great pool terrace (salt water pool) and stunning views from breakfast/dining room terrace. Staff very helpful and attentive.