Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France near Geneva

In the heart of Shahjahanabad -- Old Delhi!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Seee above
Cons: nothing as far as I am concerned.
Location: See above
I chose this hotel for its location! In the heart of the Old city of Delhi, a stone's throw away from Chandni Chowk. From here you can walk all over Old delhi, and then take tuk tuks to just about anywhere. There are at least eight markets right next to the tara palace location, all of them fascinating, all of them full of life, full of all sorts of people and trades and stalls -- all full of the REAL India! The restaurant blew me over! I didn't expect anything from the hotel food -- but the restaurant menu is very varied, for all tastes, and the food -- I tried many different dishes and they were all excellent! Well prepared and presented, tasty and copious! Five stars for the restaurant! Only small objection: the breakfast is excellent if you want ( as I did) Indian fare. But if you are one of those picky tourists who can't be without a "continental" or "American" (sic) breakfast -- well, it's not that good. Bring your own Chocolate coated Sugar bombs from wherever -- you won' (luckily) find any in Delhi! I definitely recommend this hotel; great value for money, and really , the best is its location!
4 out of 5
by Ruby

A Refugee in the Heart of the Bustle

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Overall I deeply enjoyed my stay here and would certainly return when I'm again in the area. The only downside was the noise level coming from guests talking in the hallways. Otherwise clean, comfortable, and convenient for walking to the Red Fort and Chandni Chowk. The winning element, however, was the rooftop. Killer views of Jama Masjid, the Red Fort and much else while enjoying a tea or a meal. Service was excellent - in fact the staff were all extremely helpful, quick and courteous. Approaching the hotel can be a bit daunting. A rickshaw or bike cab from Chandni Chowk is the best way to reach the hotel. They drop you at the entrance to a narrow alley with a sign for the hotel above it. Keep walking down the alley until you reach green marble steps on your left. For those traveling with much luggage this may not be a great option. Otherwise a fantastic location for being able to stop by during the day for dropping off purchases or taking a tea break. I'll be back!
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Deep in Od Delhi

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
A friendly hotel deep in Old Delhi. After we overcame a setback with the quality of the room everything was sorted out to our satisfaction. The waiter was a great guy and went out of his way to make our stay pleasant. This was a very basic priced hotel, but we got more than we should have expected.
4 out of 5
by John-Charles L

Frightening first impression

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Once you were inside the hotel things were fine. The area reminds me of Blade Runner
4 out of 5
by David

My refuge in Old Delhi

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
As always, the Hotel Tara Palace was an inviting refuge from the hectic life of Old Delhi. The staff are still friendly and helpful. The food is still great. And I will return whenever I pass through Delhi!
4 out of 5
by Reuben

Friendly and courteous staff.

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Not easy to find. Looks like a unsafe area, but it is safe. Not so friendly dogs around the entrance to the Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little Gem in the Alley

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Tara Palace is tucked away on a quiet alley, walking distance to Red Fort, and many temples, the Old Delhi, spice markets and bazaars. Internet was fast, Staff could not be more attentive , included Indian breakfast was a treat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

won't stay here ever again!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
super dirty hotel. I didn't even want to sleep on that bed. ugly neighborhood too. If you are going to India don't stay here on your first night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Quiet, Homely Rest in the Big, Noisy City

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Tara Palace is my go-to hotel in Old Delhi. They have upgraded their free wifi to a high standard. Their staff is as helpful as always. I always look forward to visiting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst in the world

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Never come here. They managed to make me pay by cash. When my credit card was declined due to offline (according to him), he asked me to withdraw cash from ATM. But the truth is the network was not offline. I could pay by credit card at last in the room which is behind the reception. They asked me many question, for instance, when we check-out, when my train leaves and how much I have in the bank before he rejected my credit card. While we were talking, he said that "I already talked with my boss" and I asked "What did he say?" To be surprised, he began his answer with "Maybe..." before he started telling me his boss words. I concluded at that moment that he didn't have boss and all what he wanted was cash. At last I paid by credit card in the room which is behind the reception. If you were demanded payment by cash, you can tell my situation to let them again in that room. Complementary, RATS were running in the room because the neighbor is very dirty.