Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by SIEW MUI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by SIU PING

Improvement suggested

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Poor air conditioning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Price, restaurant.
Very poor internet wifi, stopped working and staff said it was due to heavy usage, worked for 30 minutes next morning then stopped again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel close to Omiya subway station

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location was the best thing
Cons: Better air con
Location: Two stops from Gion and Pontocho Alley. Easy to walk from there to Yasaka shrine/Chion-in Temple. Easy to reach Kyoto station via subway.
Pleased with location - 1 min walk to Omiya subway station (easy connection to Kyoto station (one change at Karasuma) and two stops from the Gion area). 2 min walk to Shijo-Omiya overground station (direct train to Arashiyama). The staff were fine but their English wasn't great. We didn't use the hotel facilities much or have breakfast there. Instead, we bought food for 10% of the price at the Family Mart almost next door to the hotel. We opted for the eco-room (cheaper if you agree to not have your room served during your stay, which was fine for us as we were only there three nights). Room was larger than average for Japan. Bathroom was tiny (but this is normal for Japan) and the shower pressure and temperature was good. There was a fridge, a hairdryer and a useful cord extension. Lots of power sockets. No English channels on the TV. Have marked 'room comfort' as 2 (disappointing) because of the overwhelming heat (on overcast days in April!). We turned on the button marked 'air con' and it just pumped out hot air. It was almost unbearable. When we spoke to reception, in broken English they told us to open the window, which we had tried, several times, but it seemed glued shut (perhaps because we were on a floor quite high up). We ended up leaving the bedroom door open for as long as possible before going to sleep each night but it was still uncomfortable and we woke up drenched in sweat. Price was very good though for blossom season. Hopefully this was just an anomaly room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great hotel for smokers

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The staff were pleasant.
Cons: Better beds, get an extractor fan for the bathrooms and better beds
Location: Location was fine. Pretty close to the markets (20 mins walk) and close enough to transport and food options.
The staff were the nicest thing about this hotel. The room we had was a non-smoking room but that made little difference as the hallway was incredibly smoky and the air-conditioner pushed smoky smelling air around everywhere. Our initial room smelled so bad it was unbearable, staff did move us to something slightly better. The rooms are tiny, but I understand that's common in Japan and we were prepared for that. However there were signs warning that the bathroom door had to remain closed while you were in there as the fire alarm went off otherwise. There was no extractor fan in the bathroom (just a small vent) so all in all that wasn't the best experience either. The bed was very uncomfortable. I feel bad saying this as staff were pleasant and I want to be able to be positive but this was the worst place we stayed on our trip through Japan. I highly recommend you stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Convenient, cheap stay

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Less furniture in the rooms
Close to station, but not JR line, loads of cafes and shops and easy access to central Kyoto
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Hotel location was good (right on the street that crosses to Gion) and was close to public transportation. However the hotel is a little run down and our room smelled musty when we walked in. There were also small bits of paper in the entryway, making us wonder if the floor had been vacuumed. Perfectly fine for one night's stay, but wouldn't do longer.
5 out of 5
by Timothy

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great.
2 out of 5
by Robert Macmillan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels