Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuching, Sarawak

Location of hotel in city of historical sites.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The place itself is an attraction. Warm and comfortable with all the utensils available. Also quiet neghbourhood make it ideal
Cons: Had enjoyed fully staying at Gagakuan, so have no suggestions on improvement for the time being.
Location: It is convenient to visit places of interest around the city, on foot or by train/bus. Food is not a problem, lots of japanese style.
Spent four days at Gagakuan, satisfied, although unexpected cold weather even in spring. Late sakura blooming, still managed to view some. Did not follow tour, rather venture on our own. Visited places of interest but unable to cover all due to insufficient time, maybe next time would to come again.
5 out of 5
by Silvano

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed there for six nights, and found it very comfortable with all the facilities provided for a relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Summer in Kyoto

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Our family of four (two kids aged 11 and 15) enjoyed a fantastic week at Gagakuan. Our host Saki was very responsive from the initial reservation until we departed. She even dropped off a delicious birthday cake for my daughter who celebrated her birthday the day before we arrived. This is not a traditional hotel room but a traditional Japanese house in a very nice neighbourhood. The house itself is very well equipped and a fantastic way to experience living in a traditional family home. Although more than 100 years old and very traditional, it has been equipped with a number of modern touches that enhance the stay. Our two kids were absolutely fascinated with the house and the entire environment. For our purposes, it was ideally situated between Kyoto station and central Kyoto. The Gojo subway stop and the bus stop are both less than a five minute walk from the house. This allows you to easily access the public transportation system to all of the wonderful temples. We also took side trips to Osaka, Nara and a day trip to Hiroshima using our Japan rail passes. Except for a few hot days (typical for Kyoto in the summer), we had a perfect time in Kyoto thanks to our great stay at Gagakaun and the kind generosity of Saki. We hope we get another chance to return to Kyoto and see the things we missed this visit and stay here again.
5 out of 5
by May Gee from Singapore

Great stay.

Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. The lady in charge was very nice. The place is not easy to find for first-timer but she kindly picked us up at the train exit. Also gave many advices on traveling. Place is clean and well-equipped.
5 out of 5
by arthur from hong kong

Experience Kyoto City

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
It was a fantastic experience staying in Gagakuan. We were welcomed by Ms Mako and she has given very valuable travel advice according weather and transportation. The house has a very relaxing environment, no TV, but provided with relaxing music CD. I had a very relaxing night like spending time in a cafe. The house also provided one bicycle, it is great way to experience the city as well.
5 out of 5
by sherri r from New York city

heaven in Kyoto

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Makko has created the most perfect blend of home, luxury, comfort and style. We want to live there. Every day. Conveniently located with the most serenely tranquil aura. Aftrt a day trekking there is no better space to come home to. We were so gratedul for a cold bottle in the fridge and lovely veggies and cheese and a rainy evening while we were snuggled dreamily.
5 out of 5
by Robyn from Singapore

Perfect for a family holiday!

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at Gagakuan during Kyoto's cherry blossom season, which was brilliant and recommended for all travellers to Japan! Gagakuan is a renovated period style Japanese townhouse, very centrally located to trains (Gojo station), cool areas of Kyoto (Nishiki Market, Gion, Teramachi, supermarket, local restaurants), and very safe. Mako san, the owner, helped make our stay a fabulous one - from before we arrived (maps in Japanese, giving taxi driver directions in Japanese), to making us comfortable in the house, guiding us to local sights and activities, with great communication during our stay. The house has everything you need and so much better than a hotel. We loved the separate living spaces, very comfortable beds, cooking facilities and the deep bath! Taxis to most of the major sights was ridiculously cheap as Gagakuan was in close proximity to everything, and you can flag them down in the street one block away from the house. We had a fantastic time and would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend this place to others.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Hawaii

A small touch of old Japan

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels
Gagakuan is not a hotel, it's the equivalent of a US townhouse, built about 100 years ago. It's a 2 story unit with a full kitchen downstairs and beds upstairs. It was very clean and easy to walk to Nijo Castle and other. Kyoto sights. We really enjoyed it because it was so different from the hotels we stay in when we travel. If you must have a TV and maid service look elsewhere (there is free wifi and a laptop in the home), but this is the perfect place to stay when visiting a city like Kyoto.
5 out of 5
by Len C from Canada

Best way to enjoy Kyoto

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels
Our family of 4 completely enjoyed 2 wonderful nights at this cute little Japanese home. The service was excellent and started even before we arrived, with Saki reaching out to us by email to make sure we knew how to find the place and to keep tabs on our arrival. When we arrived Saki explained the use of various features on the home and left us to our privacy. But that didnt stop there as she kept checking in on us by email to make sure we were doing ok. And we did far more than just "OK". Kyoto is a beautiful place to visit and Gagakuan certainly adds to the enjoyment of this fine city. So much so that our kids actually called it "home", albeit temporarily. We would definitely love to go there again.
5 out of 5
by Will Chen from Hong Kong

Great place in Kyoto

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
Only one subway stop away from Kyoto station. Classic Loft. Well equiped. Warm and personal service. Superb experience.