Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jie Tao

Good price but not a good location

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
We only stayed one night in this hotel for leisure. The hotel is not in a good location for going around major tourism spots. Kyoto's bus direction is confusing and we wasted a lot of time in transport. I would rather stay close to Kyoto station next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean.

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms have no telephone hence you are cut out completely. The staff at reception does not speak English, hence non-Japanese beware. The staff have no idea about reservations to airport hence you have to make your own reservations. The inroom massages advertised so well cost 11,000 yen which is prohibitively expensive and overpriced for anybody.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, cheap, good room, good staff

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful hotel staff and clean room. Nice cold AC in room and nice en suite. Cheap and would recommend. Good location too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice inexpensive hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was being renovated while I was there, so the condition wasn't great in some parts of the hotel, but I'm sure that is temporary. The staff were very helpful and the location is good. It's a 5 minute walk to Tambaguchi station and a 20 minute walk to Kyoto station where the shinkansen can be boarded. There is free wifi which is great. My only disappointments were the bed needed to be replaced and the wifi was not very good. Very spotty connection that often would hang for up to a minute several times an hour. If you need wifi to do work in the hotel, then you'll be frustrated. I would stay here again though and recommend it to others on a budget, so the good outweighed the bad.
5 out of 5
by Amiee from Liverpool

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely polite friendly staff, great location and price
3 out of 5
by Greg from LA

Ok for short business stay

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Fine for a short business stay, but can't recommend it too much for family vacation. They didn't have non-smoking rooms for us, so we stayed in the smoking rooms. Bathrooms are small; even by Japanese standards. There's a microwave in each room, but one of the rooms we had had a very noise AC unit. The location of the hotel is ok; there's only 3 parking spaces, so don't expect to park there for free as advertised. The wifi is slow, but manageable. The beds were mediocre at best. So ok, but not above average.
4 out of 5
by Lee from London living in Korea

Kyoto for a couple of days on my own

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
The room was small, but contained everything needed. The hotel was clean and warm, a bit too warm with the higher than seasonal temperatures, but the staff helped me to unjam the window so I could get some cooling. The hotel is located a bit away from the centre of the town, 5/6 stops on the bus, which probably accounts for its reasonable cost. As a single I would have no hesitation in staying there again, but am not sure about the rooms if I was with my wife. I don't know if they have larger rooms, which we would need. That said and for what I wanted - fine.
4 out of 5
by erik

decent

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, but a little far from most activities. Always have to take a bus. Standard hotel for Japan.
4 out of 5
by David from England

Good Hotel But A Little Remote

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Livemax seem to be a bit of a budget chain, we stayed in 2 different branches during the trip. Both were clean, comfortable and had helpful staff. This branch is a little away from the sights, 15-20 mins walk from the station and 20-25 mins walk to the main attractions. However this was reflected in the discount price we paid.
4 out of 5
by Josephine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels