Ratings based on 1,754 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Clean room and good location

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Nothing was special about this hotel. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable for three days. The location was great and was close to subway. There was no escalator or elevator from the subway. If you carry a big bag from the subway, it may be challenging. The breakfast buffet was okay and I would not recommend. If you like to use spa, you have to pay extra. There was no English inside the spa. It was an average spa. I would prefer if the spa is included and therefore would not come back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlyand

Clean, convenient and very hospitable.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Huge clean bed, delicious large array at breakfast and friendly staff.
Location: All of the historic sites are close NI JO castle, Nashiki market and Yasaka Temple just toname a few.
We checked swiftly and were greeted immediately by smiling helpful faces. If you are there to see all of the historic sites this location is perfect. We enjoyed clean quiet rooms and an overall very comfortable stay. I would easily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good value; can walk to many places.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: . See above.
Cons: . Tours did not start at this hotel and the tours ended up a Kyoto Station. For visitors to Japan, this was a little stressful.
Location: . See above.
. My son and I stayed her for 5 nights. . Breakfast was included daily. Good value. Lots of choices for food. . We had a traditional Japanese meal at the hotel once night. Fun night. Food was good. . The hotel is a 10-minute walk to the Teramachi walking mall. This mall covers many streets and is a great place to go shopping. The entire area is covered so no issues with weather once you are there. . We also walked to a street mall for food. Another interesting experience. . We walked around most nights and checked out places for sushi; lots of places to choose from. . Many convenience stores close by. . The hotel is about a 5-10 minute cab ride from Kyoto station. . Staff were very helpful. English was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY KYOTO. We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments. We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Wonderful

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Highly recommend it to everyone. The hotel is close to subways, shops and restaurant. Staffs can speaks English and very helpful. The only thing is tv should have at least one speaking English news chanel and a safety box in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY KYOTO. We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments. We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Sincerely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel close to Gion district.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Renovate.
Location: Walking distance: Nishiki market, Gion district.
Great location, extremely helpful concierge (got us a table at one of the best restaurants in town for Kobe beef, with table overlooking the Gion river. Fabulous! Hotel has everything you need and is clean. Rooms are a bit dated, and on the small side. No issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your staying at HOTEL MONTEREY KYOTO. We would also like to say thank you for taking your valuable time to send us your sentiments. We will further endeavor to fulfill the expectations that you have had for our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel was Fantastic

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This hotel is really top notch. Nishiki Market is in a walk-able distance and the subway exit is really near too. Only con was that when we had to carry our luggage up the stairs at the subway station as there was no escalator or lift. Hotel room was big and beds were really comfy. English speaking staff with really good hospitality! Allowed us to leave our luggage there as we were early for check in so we could explore the area without the hassle of pulling our luggage! Will definitely book a hotel with Monterey group again if i ever go to Japan.
5 out of 5
by Traci

Very nice hotel to end our trip

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very well located hotel with wonderful, ccomodating staff. We were close enough to walk to the shopping areas and were near a bus stop to take us to tourist sites. The concierge and front desk staff were very helpful in making reservations and suggestions on where to go. The King air bed was the biggest bed I've ever seen - much larger than a US king. Good ac which was needed in the hotel weather. We took advantage of the happy hour in the lounge a couple times - $10 for two cocktails. My sister and nephew really enjoyed the onsite onsen and used it several times. Great place to stay to end our two weeks in Japan.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Adequate but lukewarm reception on arrival. Rooms small and furnishings tired. Bathroom facilities outdated. Basin tap broken. Carpet stained. Bar shut at 10 pm.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Needs updating but nice itherwise

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nice, although it could use a little updating. Small rooms and bathrooms. Otherwise comfortable. Convenient location near shopping and metro. Service was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Good location to subway, restaurants and market. Three coffee houses, several convenience stores (7-11, Lawson's, Family Mart) and liquor store all in walking distance.