Ratings based on 2,051 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Good location to subway, restaurants and market. Three coffee houses, several convenience stores (7-11, Lawson's, Family Mart) and liquor store all in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2017
The hotel staff was always ready to answer any questions. The rooms were very clean, and the breakfast buffet had options for everyone. I didn't make it to the spa but I read great reviews about it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Just Okay. Don't expect much

Posted Jun 6, 2017
I don't think I enjoyed this hotel much. The hotel location is perfect. One thing I liked much is that the hotel is just a minute walk from the Karasuma Oike subway station (6 mins from Kyoto). There are a couple of Starbucks just close to the hotel, so coffee or food is a minute walk from the hotel. The rooms are clean but look so outdated. The hotel seems to have been renovated recently and hence the rooms have good colors, but not a large space. The bathroom is so small that the wash basin would protrude into the bathtub. I had to ask my kid to take extra care in being safe in the bathtub, as if someone slips in the bathtub, there's a high chance that they may hit the corner of the washbasin. Staffs don't have good English speaking skills. Only a few staffs understand and respond in English. I struggled a lot speaking to the reception staff at night to understand where the refuse bin was :) The restaurants in the hotel close before 9:30 pm itself. So if you come a little late after some sightseeing, better grab your dinner outside. The breakfast is not so great. They don't have a great spread, and they don't even have bread or toast machines or omelette. I asked them to refill maple syrup and I was told they ran out :) Also their breakfast is only until 9:30 am even on weekends. Since I'm a late riser, I thought I should not have bought the breakfast option in the hotel and I could have had my breakfast at Starbucks for half the price I paid the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everyone was very helpful

Posted Jun 1, 2017
We forgot a pair of new shoes there and they will send them to us,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Comfortable hotel in business section of town

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: prices for food in bar too high
Location: Map supplied from hotel misleading as is not to scale and tourist sites are generally too far away to walk.
Overall a pleasant stay with very helpful concierge staff. Room comfortable and bathroom clean. Hotel a good walk from tourist areas but taxis cheap and plentiful. Restaurants and bar quite expensive but plenty of more reasonable places an easy walk.
3 out of 5
by Victoria

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Generally all was good but the room provided was very small! Nowhere to put your case!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel, good location

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: I thought the location was great. Nice stroll to restaurants etc of an evening, and close to subway station.
Cons: The wifi quality inside the rooms wasn't so good...they may need to look into that. The carpet in the rooms could do with a steam clean/replacing.
Location: Close to subway (Karasuma Oike station) and plenty of restaurants etc around. Temples and shrines everywhere in Kyoto.
This hotel is in a good location, handy to subway station (Karasuma Oike station) and to restaurants/night life. It isn't a really modern/contemporary hotel, but more of a classic/Art Deco look and feel. The buffet breakfast is good, and the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The rooms are a little more compact than some of the others I stayed in while in Japan, but the bathroom is still a decent size. It is a clean and comfortable hotel, but if I was going to be super picky I'd say that the carpet in the rooms might be due for a good steam clean/replacing. The hotel has free wifi, although I did find it wasn't great when inside the room... maybe my room was in a bit of a black spot.
4 out of 5
by Benoit

Well located hotel

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is well located in the centre of Kyoto. It has a modern look. The rooms are ok. The negative point is the dust not done. We stayed 5 nights and the bed side tables have been very dusty during the entire length of our stay. They have never been cleaned! The staff for the breakfast was very nice. The staff at the concierge was not always efficient but not too bad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel with helpful staff. A short walk from lots of places.
4 out of 5
by Melissa

Great hotel and perfect location

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Monterey is in a great location! It's a $10 taxi ride to Kyoto Station and is in walking distance to plenty of restaurants, bars and coffee shops. The room was small - which is typical for Japan but it was too crowded with stuff (extra chairs, luggage holders, humidifier). The bathroom was huge, though. Overall this is a great place to stay!