Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, CA

Good location

Posted Oct 10, 2017
This hotel is central to many of the top sights, close to many restaurants (including the wonderful Goichi pizza restaurant), close to a subway station. The staff are plentiful and attentive. The building is a bit old, but still very serviceable. The only negative is that the beds are rather hard by American standards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Nice but needs to be cleaner.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: It's an okay location, 2 subway stops from central Kyoto.
Cons: CLEAN THE BATHROOM
Location: It's a crash pad to see other things. There's shopping, but it's not a charming small area - more metropolitan.
This hotel is very much a hub for horde tourists. I saw a few cruise and large groups settle in here. The room was relatively quiet, but the real issue I had was with the bathroom. Mainly, how it smelled like urine. When I arrived I was too tired to ask for it to be cleaned again and went to sleep. I just thought the cleaning staff would get it the next day, perhaps they were very busy. Nope! Smelled bad the next day, and found black hairs all over the bathtub, which is not my hair color. For the price they charged I expected more from them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam, BC Canada

Centrally located

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Text book example of GREAT customer service!
Location: The Nikko is minute from many restaurants, coffee shops and convenience stores. Major shopping district is no more than a 5 minute. Transit closeby!
I've stayed at the Hotel Nikko in San Francisco in the past so I decided to stay with them again. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the staff with the focus of providing the absolutely best customer service. The staff was able to understand English when we spoke clearly and slowly. The staff manning concierge desk definitely had a better command of English for the more complicated questions. We were surprised when we were provided with a real hotel key.....no a pass card but a real key! The room was more than adequate for the 3 of us. The Nespresso in the room was a pleasant surprise. No need to visit Starbucks for the duration of our stay! The shower was HUGE. Definitely enjoyed the size of the steam shower. Just like my experience at the Hotel Nikko in San Francisco......the Nikko Hotel has one objective to ensure the guests are well taken care of. During our 5 day stay, they definitely did that. The staff definitely took care of us. I would highly recommend this hotel as its minutes away from the major area of Kyoto and seconds away from many restaurants and coffee shops......yes, convenience stores too!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice staff & service. Needs updates. Smells.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The staff and service at this hotel left nothing to be desired. However, the rooms are very outdated and in serious need of an update, though the bed and special pillow were very comfortable. There was an air filter in the room, but it did not do much to mask the musty tabacco smell infused into everything. The tapwater tastes good as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Central location, friendly staff, nice breakfast buffet
4 out of 5
by Rajiv

Excellent hotel but location not very convenient

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. Good breakfast. The hotel staff was extremely pleasant & helpful. The location could have been a bit better. None of the attractions of Kyoto are at an easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Gorgeous hotel, great location, impeccable staff and excellent value for money through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Quality hotel in between Kyoto Stn and Downtown

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Helpful staff, many English speaking. Large room, well appointed, good aircon. Located a 5-10 minute taxi-ride from Kyoto Stn (other options not so good with luggage). Close to subway, 10+ minute walk to main downtown street, or 20+ minute walk to Gion. Hotel eatery is just OK - a bit dated and dark, and a bit expensive. But you can find some nice eats in the back streets. Overall, recommended, and if you can get a good deal on the room, then great value.
5 out of 5
by Kerrin

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Good location for sightseeing and easy to get to station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel close to Shijo subway station.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: It's located in central Kyoto and about 8 minutes taxi drive to Kyoto station where we can take JR train. It's nice hotel and the price is decent.
Cons: Room amenities can be improved. Bigger room for family of 4 to travel.
Location: It's little far to visit Arashiyama and Kinkakiju, especially Kinkakiju where there was no train to get there.
It was pleasant stay and the staff were very friendly, polite, and extremely helpful.