Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Tatsu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Clean Hotel close to center of Kyoto

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice small hotel, but was hard to find. Close to train and subway stations and to downtown. Longer walks to Gion, but can make in 1/2 hour. Buses run close by. If you plan to go, make sure you get a Kyoto bus pass.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnaby, BC, Canada

Hotel In the City Close to Local Cultural Sites

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel was a modest ryokan that gave a good traditional japanese atmosphere in an urban setting with easy access to local transit via a short walk.
Cons: The lobby and hallways arn't airconditioned which makes it a little uncomfortable but not a huge concern since the rooms are airconditioned.
Location: The hotel is close to Nijojo castle and the Imperial palace as well as the subway lines and lots of resturants.
The Hotel is tucked away near downtown Kyouto making it great for exploring around on foot during the day. The single rooms are a little on the small size but could definitely accomidate two people. They were nice and clean and had a good traditional japanese feel. They come with thier own bathroom with a sink, toilet and bathtub in the one room. It works great for one person, but two people using it at once would be a little difficult though as it is somewhat small. The AC in the room worked great with no problems. The hotel wifi worked great and I was able to stream videos from youtube with no interruptions. The public bath was nice and clean with a more simple design and was very relaxing. The hotel is located just across from a school so its in a very safe location. The street its on is fairly narrow though so finding the place for the first time is a little difficult as you wont see it until your right infront of it basically. However, its within 4-8 minutes walking distance of various local subway lines allowing for easy travel. By subway you can get to Fushimi Inari Tasha, Rengeoin Sanjusangendo, Kiyomizu Dera and lots of other large shrines and temples within 20 min. Its also within 15min walking distance of Nijojo castle and the Kyoto Imperial Palace.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Nice staff but a bit dated

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Clean place to stay, not the most luxurious place, but great place to stay on a budget. There are a few restaurants on a lower level about 2 blocks from this hotel that were fantastic and the hotel breakfast food was good for our family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Very nice ryokan style hotel with excellent servic

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts
Cons: When we don't close the door between the bedroom and the shoes room while operating the bathroom fan, smoke from smoking area would seep into the room
Location: Walking distance to the bus and subway station. It is easier to find food at the bus or subway station.
Our taxi had trouble looking for this hotel. The reservation that I printed out did not show the hotel phone number. I forgot to look for it ahead of time liked I used too. If I had the phone number, the driver could enter it into his GPS, and it would show the address. Overall my husband and I were happy to experience the ryokan stay. Their Japanese breakfasts were unique and excellent! They do have juice, coffee, sausages, and pastries for peoples who like the Western breakfast instead.
4 out of 5
by Eugene

Cozy gem in great location!

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and cozy, clean ryokan (traditional Japanese hotel) in very good location near major attractions. But remember, ryokan means minimalistic lifestyle, sleeping on the floor, eating traditional Japanese breakfast etc. So, if "comfortable stay" in traditional meaning of this phrase is important for you - this hotel is not for you. But we truly enjoyed staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a delight!

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: Although not near a JR Line, the bus and subway lines were quite convenient. It is walking distance to some great day and night spots.
This quaint hotel offered a generous amount of amenities and square footage room-wise at it's price point. We loved the traditional breakfast spread and enjoyed the public bath house. It's certainly dated but offers great comforts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great Breakfast!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
A traditional Japanese experience in a hotel like setting. Room had tatami mats, low table, kettle, small fridge, bottles of water each day, robe, toiletries, TV, green tea and a separate bathroom. The breakfast was delicious every morning with burners cooking fish and and boiling tofu on your table. Coffe, tea, juice, pickled Vegetables and other great items. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to leave our luggage on our check out day without any charge so that we could sight see before traveling to our next stop.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels