Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from China

Posted Jul 30, 2017
店里的服务人员态度挺好的,装修也是日式的,适合喜欢日本古典文化的旅客。 Staffs are caring and nice, and the decoration is very Japanese style, which is totoally for the visitors who love Japanese classical culture. 但是清洁的确是这个酒店的短板,我的朋友在洗手池塞子下找到了很多头发,地板上的头发没有清理干净。 But the cleanliness is the shortcome. My roommate found many hairs beneath the plug of the washbasin. Hairs on the floor were not cleaned.
5 out of 5
by Merve

Great amenities in a charming traditional package

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
A great balance of the traditional country feel, but with the needed amenities to feel comfortable and supported.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big space

Posted Jul 7, 2017
A good 9 minutes walk from the subway to the hotel( have to get on subway from Kyoto Main Station first). Place look raggard on the outside, but the rooms was spacious enough . Bus stops are a few minutes walk from hotel,and most of the sightseeing places are indicated on the buses . Amazingly, Gion is just ten mins away, and you can easily get back to the hotel using Google maps.
4 out of 5
by Connie Chui Yie

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Smitten by the welcome sign at entrance. Hotel seems old but room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was sumptuous too. However , very disappointed by the Onsen (public bath in the hotel ) it was closed at 9 am when we were awake n didn't get a chance to use as we checked in late ( around 10 pm) and my request for late check out was not even considered. After all, it was in my consideration when I chose this Ryokan. When asked why the Onsen was closed, we were told that it was for cleaning and in preparation for use for a group of students !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good and quiet location.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: More water given in the room
Location: Good eating places along the river. Try chao chao gyoza.. Buy brushes at the little brush store near Sanjo bridge.
This ryokan was a good place to base for our five nights in Kyoto. It is a block from the entry to the river which is the best route to walk to Gion. It is also close to Imperial Palace and not far from good shopping. The hotel is old, so rooms not fresh looking. Staff at front desk very nice and helpful. The room cleaning staff though seemed a bit rude when we set out the futons ourselves to take an afternoon nap as we were jetlagged. After we did this, the next day they hid the futons. And then when we found the futons and took a nap again, they moved the table to the center of the room to block us from pulling out the futon again. Of course we still moved the table to be able to rest after a full morning of touring. We had come from Canada and were not onky adjusting go 13 hourstime difference but also to the 25C heat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Traditional

Posted Apr 14, 2017
A traditional Ryokan, with friendly staff, in the northern part of Kyoto, you can (long) walk to many of the northern sights. The onsen facility is quite basic. Taxi from station cost ¥1600. The are many restaurants and 7-11 store within close walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

It is oversold

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Overall the place is just dingy and very tired. It sells itself as authentic but the bathroom was in need of a major overhaul. Just too expensive. Don't stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

the hotel is actually in the middle of nowhere

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Hospitality, cleanliness.
Location: See above
There are no restaurants just dingy joints in the area. It says Central Kyoto, so we expected more liveliness. The liveliness came from avoiding bicycles riding on the sidewalk without lights. Almost got hit by one. Horrible evening when we had high expectations of "kyoto happening". The hotel first denied that we had booking with them. THe owner or some jerk stopped us on the street and claimed we had no room booked. Apparently they were mostly booked by a Chinese group and we were "round eyes" from America. Then he allowed us into the lobby where the clerk found our reservations. Would recommend the place only to my enemies, not friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

The best hotel for our Japan Trip

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
The stay gave us a great experience of Japanese living style. We enjoy very much the cleanness and a high standard of service by the hotel.