Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Jewel in Kyoto

Posted Dec 5, 2017
It was a fantastic stay! It was very strategic, especially with their shuttle service every 20mins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Elegant modern hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Staff, at all levels; cleanliness; large rooms.
Cons: It would be nice if the breakfast restaurant could stay open beyond 1030, for those who prefer brunch.
Location: Quiet location, nice native-dwelling neighborhood, far from most tourist attractions. Limited local restaurants.
The Brighton is built around a large central atrium. On the ground floor in the atrium are hotel services, a dessert restaurant, and a western restaurant. Very high end Japanese and Chinese restaurants are on the next level. Staff are extraordinarily well trained and polite, rooms are spacious and immaculate, with every convenience. Subway shuttle is useful and convenient. Overall, a superb hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, very nice hotel; location a bit remot

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Kyoto Brighton is a very nice hotel with a huge beautiful lobby. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Great shower. Nice bar in lobby. The only drawback is the location- it’s a bit far from the train station and local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close enough, but far enough away from the crowds.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great location, next to Imperial Palace, easy to get around.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

New hotel - far from Kyoto Center

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: The lobby has a great vibe and drinks were great. The Front Desk was great and the Concierge was extremely helpful in assisting us with our program.
Kyoto Brighton is a decent hotel-not outstanding. It is located a little far from Kyoto Station or any of the main sights of Kyoto. The rooms are clean-unfortunately the Room Service and House keeping spoke no English. I asked for fresh milk a few times for tea that is set up nicely in the room- but got charged for a full tea service-twice.Other hotels in Tokyo do not charge for a small pot of milk. The restaurants at the hotel are also marginal in terms of quality of food. We did not love the setup of the rooms with terrace since there were no windows and the living room was connected to the bedroom through the Bath area. It was quite odd. Perhaps the other rooms are set up differently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Excellent service

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We love how well stocked our room amenities were. I never stayed at a hotel where the hotel would provide hair turban when I wash my face. Bottle waters and nespresso coffee were free to use. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. We missed the shuttle ride to the nearest subway station just because the shuttle driver was so adherent to his route schedule that he refused to wait even one second for my elderly parents to catch up. We complained to the manager and he paid for our taxi ride to the subway station as a gesture of apology. Now that is exceptional service! True, the hotel is not located conveniently near subway or shops. It is located in residential area. But Kyoto is not a big city so when we did not feel like taking subway, we took taxi from and to hotel. Taxi fare was not as expensive as fare in Tokyo since Kyoto is a smaller city than Tokyo. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but far away from center

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Nice and comfort hotel with very good breakfast. Although, the hotel provides shuttle bus to the nearest train station, it is still far away from center. Taxi is available
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Beautiful and quiet hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Quality place hidden in a residential area. Staff professional and attentive. Facilities and room crisp, clean and spacious. Great retreat after touring the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

Nice hotel but far from all activity

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is a very nice hotel, with nice rooms not big room. The two main problems are that the staff do not know enough English and the hotel is pretty far from all attractions
5 out of 5
by Daniel

Lovely hotel in Kyoto

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel Brighton was an amazing oasis for my family of four in Kyoto. The staff spoke perfect english. We had a quadruple room with four comfy beds and a room big enough to handle all of us. The room came equipped with coffee, a special green tea kit and automatic toilet. The shower room and bath were also amazing. The toiletries included bath salts, hair brushes, toothbrushes, razors, shower caps and hair turbans. The service was spectacular and they helped us find a local drug store, a tea ceremony and loaned us umbrellas. The shuttle to the subway station was a bonus to save our feet the walking.