Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Anna

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place, clean, good location, good food for breakfast, nice staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is located on a decent and quiet neighborhood. Room is small but clean and functioning.Hotel offering Japenese style breakfast. Hotel guests mostly are Japenese. It s front door have buses going to Kyoto Station and Gion. Close to Nijo Castle.
5 out of 5
by Bryan

My first visit to Japan.

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was of a good standard, staff were helpfull and room was clean and comfortable!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and great location

Posted Mar 6, 2014
It's very close to NIjo castel (5 min) as well as the center of the city (25 min) walk. They also have a free parking space which is really great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Hawaii

Great hotel near Nijo Castle

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast.
Cons: Room a little dated. Very clean, but shows signs of wear.
Location: Great locaton close to Tozai Subwai and Nijo Castle.
We stayed 1 night at Horikawa Inn for an overnight visit from Osaka. Hotel was located 1.5 blocks from the Tozai Subway Line (Nijojo Mae Station). 2 blocks from Nijo Castle and a lot of small shops and restaurants nearby. Overall a great value and a good free breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Ethan

more valuable than the price

Posted Oct 11, 2012 on Hotels
Cozy hotel environment and friendly service. The location is very good (near JR Nijo station, Nijo castle, and streets of shops.)
3 out of 5
by kenzoroy

Hotel with a reasonable price

Posted May 13, 2012 on Hotels
Quite good buy a little bit far from the subways
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kyoto Horikawa Inn is at the center of the Kyoto

Posted Feb 16, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel staff are very nice and try hard to help and we can get what we were asking although English is not good enough What they should have let people know is that there is a #9 bus directly come from the train station have a stop right in front of their door (220yen/person). We found it on the way out but had to walk > 10minutes from subway station (210yen/person)with map when we went in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

Kyoto Horikawa Inn

Posted Nov 21, 2011 on Hotels
Conveniently located, clean place and staff very helpful despite their poor English, we succeeded in communicating with the help of my iPhone translation app. Very small room but very clean as it is standard in Japan.