Ratings based on 950 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted Dec 31, 2017
I stayed at the Kyoto Hotel Okura for two nights (solo travel). The staff was warm and inviting, and my room was very clean. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Kyoto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV, US

Exceptional service. A classic but modern hotel.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights. Staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Near lots of restaurants and next to the subway for the tozai line with direct access from hotel during operating hours. Exceptional.
5 out of 5
by Susana

Grand style charm

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Reminders of old style grand class hotels with all the attention to details a weary traveler can hope for. From the bell-girls to front desk check-in... flawless. Ground floor restaurant service and presentation... flawless. Standout and special mention... Concierge services provided by the very knowledgeable and friendly Maika Akei. She truly made my stay in Kyoto and at the Okura extra special with her recommendations tailored to my quest for photographic opportunities, nature and culture followed by interest in whether I enjoyed the sightseeing. Thank you again! Location was very convenient as well as the access to subway and shuttle from train station. The view from my room was phenomenal and the attention to detail was great right down to the origami crane and complimentary water bottle in my room along with a note describing the view (very helpful indeed). During my 15-day travels in Japan, my two-night stay will definitely stand out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando,fl

Nice hotel,convinient location

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The rooms are a bit dated but overall the hotel is nice.Very convenient location in Kyoto.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location dated hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We had a corner room with a nice view. The location very Good. Courteous staff but very poor English. We had diner at the buffet restaurant but we were rushed since it closes at 8:30. The bed is comfortable but the carpet is old and the room is very dusty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel location is very upscale & nice, short walk to downtown area., It costs 7 CAN by taxi to the Gion district or you can take the subway just a few steps away. We had the superior twin room with city view on 11th floor. The first room we got had cigarette smell even though it is a non smoking room. After we mentioned it to the front desk, they immediately changed room for us. The hotel design with all floors opened from the inside so we did smell cigarette smoke from the 14th floor (smoking floor), but not to the point to bother us too much. Ask for a lower floor it it concern you. The room is very big for Japanese standard, perfect for a claustrophobic like me. Modern decor, mattres is comfy, bed line of good quality. I did stayed in boutique hotel in Gion district a few nights for convenience of visiting Gion area, but I rather stay here for the room size & quality, the view, surrounding area. Excellent service. Very good breakfast, a lot to choose from. Don't forget to try the bakery in the hotel lobby!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Great hotel, excellent staffs. Concierge desk was kind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient everywhere

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Good start of Kansai
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kyoto's Gem

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about the hotel was amazing. Be prepared for the high cost of the restaurants inside. I had a minor incident with a tour I booked with the concierge. They gave me the wrong time so I missed the tour However, there were multiple conversatons goig on with the tour company so I was not surprised. They were very apologetic and made up for mishap. I would definitel stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels