Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Chi Ming

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

kyoto kokusai hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly staff, great location, and nice breakfast buffet. But, the room was very expensive, the bed was uncomfortable, and the room did not have wifi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time capsule from 1961 -- not in a good way

Posted Nov 21, 2014
An extremely dated hotel (the type where you get a single key to leave with the front desk). Room is stuffy, hallways stink of cigarette smoke, there is no wifi in the rooms. This is NOT a modern hotel, be warned. Not a terrible place to stay (the front desk staff is friendly) but at $225/night this place is a complete ripoff. Not worth more than $100/night and only if you can't find a modern hotel or want to experience a time shift to 1961 Japan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Decent hotel, good price, good location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The price and location were great - it was just across the road from a beautiful 'castle'. The room was well equipped and quiet.
Cons: The carpet in our room could have done with a clean. It would be nice to have free wifi in the rooms, not just the lobby.
Having mis-read the scale on the map this hotel I had thought was very close to the train station turned out to be a fairly long taxi ride away but the the up-side was that meant it was closer to many of the tourist attractions. The hotel is enormous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel across from castle

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Cons: Need renovation in rooms
Close to castle, transportation right outside of hotel, one bus to Kyoto station
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice service

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
The staff is very nice and the location is very good
4 out of 5
by halloweenjackau from Sydney Australia

Great Stay

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
Nijo Castle was big on my list of things to do in Japan and this was right across the road. The room was comfortable although slightly dated was still nice. Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Comfortable, clean and friendly.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Clean and friendly.
Cons: Coffee and milk to be provided.
The hotel had everything you needed and was close to public transport enabling us to visit local attractions. Friendly and helpful staff and nice sized rooms. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and good location!

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Nijo Castle
This hotel is literally across the street from Nijo Castle. It's just too bad it was closed the time my husband and I were in Kyoto. :( The only downside to this hotel is the wifi is only available at the lobby and you have to return your key every time you leave the hotel. It's inconvenient because the front desk tends to be busy and you always have to wait a bit to get your room key. The beds are hard but it's one of the better ones we have stayed in Japan.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels