Ratings based on 806 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Large hotel with great staff !

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: We used the shuttle service more than we expected .. made our transportation easier to see the sights.
Cons: Room could use updating especially bathroom first to be a solid 4*+ hotel !
Location: Aside for a beautiful shrine/temple nearby, most of the transportation done via taxi and shuttle to local restaurants, other sights etc. ..
We had a very nice stay. Thank goodness for the shuttle service otherwise not convenient location. We arrived after 9:00 p.m. and had to taxi to the hotel (not much $$ but hoped for the shuttle service to run a little longer, especially after the stores closed !) We found lobby area very nice but our room dated for being a 4* rating but still comfortable except for the extra cot bed that was brought in for our 3rd occupant, it was not comfy. Generally, good stay overall and would consider staying there again depending on price !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under renovation but nice

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Hotel is currently under renovation in the external foyer area which doesn't impact rooms etc Quiet excellent hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Nice spacious room. Great free shuttle service. Strong WIFI.
Cons: It's normal in Japan to strictly adhere to check-in time, but I wish they would let us register first so we don't have to waste time doing it later.
We stayed 3 days at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and seems to be used as a wedding venue quite often. Our room was very very spacious, especially for Japan standard. Very clean, well equipped, and comfortable. It's a bit far from Kyoto Station (for walking) although they do provide free shuttle service which works out very well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, Free shuttle helped

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Breakfast variety was good, they also had onion soup for dinner which was good.
Cons: beds, are too hard and uncomfortable. No warm greeting, a tad bit unfriendly
Location: not many restaurants near by, there are some temples near by everything else is accessible at Kyoto station.
Free shuttle was nice it ran very frequently and it took you to and from Kyoto Station. Not many other restaurants near by but the restaurant in hotel was good, it had an egg station, toast, variety of free coffees, pastries, potatoes, fruit and yogurt. The rooms were large for being in Japan. The beds are hard and a tad uncomfortable. I would not stay there again, I would rather pay just a little more to try somewhere else. Kyoto Station had many places to eat, Italian, Sushi, Japanese restaurants and McDonalds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Convenient hotel from Kyoto station

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The staff, the neighborhood, the shuttle to and from Kyoto station.
Cons: We stayed on the 10th floor. Only one side of the floor was smoke free, so whenever you go out to the hallway, you can really smell the smoke.
Location: Temple near by, many good restaurants close by, supermarket less than 10 minutes walk. Laundromat 5 minutes away.
Shuttle from Kyoto station very convenient. Neighborhood of hotel excellent, many restaurants close by, even laundromat 5 minute walk. Staff excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Delightful hotel which really looked after us

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: High level of comfort, really nice staff, good food, well located with a regular shuttle bus and very attractive spaces. Good air conditioning.
Cons: Teabags as well as filter coffee in the room
Location: Kyoto is wonderful cultural city with so many beautiful places to see that you could spend years exploring. The temples and gardens are so beautiful.
The front of the hotel is rather plain but as you descend the escalator into the main foyer you look out on a classical Japanese water garden which is very lovely. Staff are most attentive and very charming, our check in was quick and efficient and we were escorted to our very comfortable room by a delightful man who explained everything about the hotel to us. Our room was small but very well set up with every comfort. Beds were very large twins with high quality sheets, bathroom had a good shower over a large bath and there were thick towels and a large range of good toiletries. The buffet breakfast offered a big range of western and Japanese foods. We ate in two of the three restaurants and enjoyed every meal, again a choice of Japanese and western dishes all beautifully prepared. The concierge was really helpful in showing us ways to get to attractions and suggesting things we might be interested in too. She also gave us recommendations for local restaurants we could walk to. One was a Japanese family restaurant which was stunning. The shuttle bus between the hotel and Kyoto station was so useful and ran every fifteen minutes in the mornings and half hourly up until about 9.30pm. You can find it easily at the front of the station near the Shinkansen lines and save a taxi fare. We were there for eight days and it became like home. It was not as grand as the hotel we had used the previous visit but was very well priced for this high level of comfort. We also loved Happy Hour
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Excellent Hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: It's proximity to Kyoto station which is a major transportation hub and the shuttle provided by the hotel that runs every 15-30 minutes.
Cons: Update the rooms
I had a really good stay at Kyoto Tokyu. The room I had was relatively small and very dated, so as that of my friends' on the upper floor, but it was well-kept and maintained. It had all the basics a traveller would need. The only thing I was disappointed about the room was that there was very minimal air-conditioning. Even with the setting on max, the room took forever to cool down and it didn't even get that cold. Otherwise, it was pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and courteous. There was a 3-hour period one night that there was absolutely no power (some sort of city power grid maintenance going on) but we were given enough notice to prepare for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Business trip

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Hotel was pleasant, if a little dark in the lobby. The tiered lobby itself is certainly impressive, and perhaps out of scale with the modest but clean and well supplied rooms. My meetings and work dinner were elsewhere in Kyoto which meant that I found myself having to take taxis from the hotel and back, there being no nearby train station that I was aware of. But overall a good (not cheap though) experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for domestic flights. Great staff.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Perfect for domestic flights. Very accommodating and helpful staff. Good breakfast, but a bit expensive.
5 out of 5
by Elisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels