Ratings based on 920 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Good hotel with regular free shuttle to station

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Good quality amenities nice room buffet breakfast range was a bit average but rest was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles California

Bad condition of the room

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Bad condition of the room. This hotel looks very nice in the picture. But the room is actually very updated ,especially the bathroom. The hotel lobby is downstairs in the basement, the location does not near anything, The only good thing is they have free shuttle bus to Kyoto station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Convenient, shuttle to train station is quite helpful, quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawA

Not the best experience

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hotel is very old.. non-smoking rooms smell like cigarettes. Rooms were very sticky and hot!!! We got a bad greeting at check-in, I came in and said HI after travelling 3 hrs from Kyoto and the guy looks at me and just says "passports" in an angry way. We spoke to the manager and he said he doesn't understand English and couldn't help us... We were disappointed overall. Butt the breakfast was very good! And the shuttle made things very easy to get around. Gym was small and hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Stayed here for 4 nights (conference attendance); no air-conditioning in the room during warm & humid week in Kyoto made for a very unpleasant stay. The room was very small (common in Japan); the TV had 6 channels, only one in English - CNN with Japanese voice over which is annoying because one cannot really hear the English as it is always "in the background". The hotel is centrally situated ....about a 10-12 min walk to the Kyoto Station and 15 min walk to the Research Park office complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The hotel design is lovely with flowing water. The room was a mix of modern and old Japanese style paper doors and the bathroom was super clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

OK HOTEL

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff
Cons: Get a caring catering director to attend to the terrible state of their three restaurants.
Location: It is not really convenient. However, their shuttle from JR station helps. I would suggest using CENTURY HOTEL. Excellent in everything.
We stayed two nights three days in this hotel. The hotel is clean and staff is excellent. Concierge are very very helpful. You must not use their restaurants. Poor quality and very expensive. The breakfast was terrible and I complained about both the quality and the quantity offered. I will NOT go there again. Unfortunately, we used the Japanese restaurant in that hoel. Only us was in a huge restaurant and got napped with an enormous charge!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely OK for Japan standards

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Room: small as most of them are in Japan, but outdated, tired and bland interior. Not even a picture on the wall. Beds: OK Room making: unsatisfactory. Examples: the maid left her/his (not ours!) unfinished can of coke on the table. The hotel provides slippers. The maid couldn't look under the bed to recover a slipper, so proudly left 3 slippers out of 4 in plain sight... Reception staff does not know basic English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very convenient!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel is really great.
Cons: No improvements needed!
Location: There is an Eon Mall nearby and some nice food places! Also, Kyoto station where you can take trains to other places.
The hotel was right next to Kyoto station and always had taxis readily available so it was really easy to get to places. Also, it was walking distance to a few cool places. The bedroom was really nice and the breakfast was delicious! (Especially the eggs).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome! Bed and bathroom is big and comfortable. Clean. Location is good and having free shuttle service to pick up at Kyoto station. Bus stop is only 5 mins walk for touring around in the city. Restaurants are nearby and convenient to look for food. Hotel breakfast is good. They have provided both western and Japanese style buffet style breakfast.