Ratings based on 866 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawA

Not the best experience

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hotel is very old.. non-smoking rooms smell like cigarettes. Rooms were very sticky and hot!!! We got a bad greeting at check-in, I came in and said HI after travelling 3 hrs from Kyoto and the guy looks at me and just says "passports" in an angry way. We spoke to the manager and he said he doesn't understand English and couldn't help us... We were disappointed overall. Butt the breakfast was very good! And the shuttle made things very easy to get around. Gym was small and hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Stayed here for 4 nights (conference attendance); no air-conditioning in the room during warm & humid week in Kyoto made for a very unpleasant stay. The room was very small (common in Japan); the TV had 6 channels, only one in English - CNN with Japanese voice over which is annoying because one cannot really hear the English as it is always "in the background". The hotel is centrally situated ....about a 10-12 min walk to the Kyoto Station and 15 min walk to the Research Park office complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The hotel design is lovely with flowing water. The room was a mix of modern and old Japanese style paper doors and the bathroom was super clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

OK HOTEL

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff
Cons: Get a caring catering director to attend to the terrible state of their three restaurants.
Location: It is not really convenient. However, their shuttle from JR station helps. I would suggest using CENTURY HOTEL. Excellent in everything.
We stayed two nights three days in this hotel. The hotel is clean and staff is excellent. Concierge are very very helpful. You must not use their restaurants. Poor quality and very expensive. The breakfast was terrible and I complained about both the quality and the quantity offered. I will NOT go there again. Unfortunately, we used the Japanese restaurant in that hoel. Only us was in a huge restaurant and got napped with an enormous charge!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barely OK for Japan standards

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Room: small as most of them are in Japan, but outdated, tired and bland interior. Not even a picture on the wall. Beds: OK Room making: unsatisfactory. Examples: the maid left her/his (not ours!) unfinished can of coke on the table. The hotel provides slippers. The maid couldn't look under the bed to recover a slipper, so proudly left 3 slippers out of 4 in plain sight... Reception staff does not know basic English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very convenient!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The location of the hotel is really great.
Cons: No improvements needed!
Location: There is an Eon Mall nearby and some nice food places! Also, Kyoto station where you can take trains to other places.
The hotel was right next to Kyoto station and always had taxis readily available so it was really easy to get to places. Also, it was walking distance to a few cool places. The bedroom was really nice and the breakfast was delicious! (Especially the eggs).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Large hotel with great staff !

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: We used the shuttle service more than we expected .. made our transportation easier to see the sights.
Cons: Room could use updating especially bathroom first to be a solid 4*+ hotel !
Location: Aside for a beautiful shrine/temple nearby, most of the transportation done via taxi and shuttle to local restaurants, other sights etc. ..
We had a very nice stay. Thank goodness for the shuttle service otherwise not convenient location. We arrived after 9:00 p.m. and had to taxi to the hotel (not much $$ but hoped for the shuttle service to run a little longer, especially after the stores closed !) We found lobby area very nice but our room dated for being a 4* rating but still comfortable except for the extra cot bed that was brought in for our 3rd occupant, it was not comfy. Generally, good stay overall and would consider staying there again depending on price !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under renovation but nice

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Hotel is currently under renovation in the external foyer area which doesn't impact rooms etc Quiet excellent hotel
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Good transport, comfortable rooms, pleasant staff

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great shuttle service to and from Kyoto Station made it much easier to get around the city and especially easy to get to Inari. Easy to walk to the Buddhist temples and garden near by. The hotel felt a little older and still uses magnetic strip cards for the doors versus touch card readers, but the beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and the staff is pleasant and helpful which makes up for the less current feel of the hotel itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Nice spacious room. Great free shuttle service. Strong WIFI.
Cons: It's normal in Japan to strictly adhere to check-in time, but I wish they would let us register first so we don't have to waste time doing it later.
We stayed 3 days at Kyoto Tokyu Hotel. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and seems to be used as a wedding venue quite often. Our room was very very spacious, especially for Japan standard. Very clean, well equipped, and comfortable. It's a bit far from Kyoto Station (for walking) although they do provide free shuttle service which works out very well.