Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Great experience!! The entire staff was incredibly nice to us. They offered tea upon our arrival and set up our beds while we were away during the day. The traditional Japanese breakfast (for extra) was amazing. The staff even allowed us to leave our baggage after check out since we were still staying in Kyoto for the day. Excellent service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Immaculate room!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Had a wonderful experience at the Watazen! Our room was immaculate and spacious. Loved the traditional ryokan experience. The staff was wonderful and it was extremely close to the nishiki market and not too far from the train station (10 min walk). Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff! Wonderful experience!

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing, location and old world feel, easy access to fantastic restaurants. Their shampoo, conditioner and body soap are the BEST!
Cons: Breakfast. Maybe offer a piece of fruit
Location: Imperial Palace, Nijo Castle, Pontocho Alley, Gion District, shopping (lots), temples and shrines everywhere, easy access to transportation
We wanted an old world Japanese experience and we got it here. The staff drops whatever they are doing to attend to us and grant our every wish and always with a smile. The room is very simple, old Japanese. They lay the bedrolls out at 7:30 so its not the kind of place to hang out in the room if you aren't use to a very simple style. The hotel is in a perfect location. Its very close to the Nishiki Market, Gion district and transportation. We walked to the Nijo Castle, Pontocho Alley, and the Imperial Palace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice basic ryokan

Posted May 17, 2017
This ryokan has a more hotel feel but it provided everything I needed for my travels. Close to the shopping streets in Kyoto, however, it was a bit noisy at night and not very secluded. The hotel staff was nice and I used their laundry facility - 50 yen for a packet of laundry powder, and 300 yen to wash, 100 yen for each 20 minutes of drying. I also used their large hot spring in the basement; as I went around 6pm, it wasn't crowded. I appreciated the sweets that was replenished during my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Nice hotel close to Kyoto station

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: location, service of shuttle bus from Kyoto station, restaurants choices
Cons: mattress comfort
Location: excellent
Beautiful hotel, I chose this hotel because of the beds, after staying 2 nights at a japanese ryokan, my family is not used to sleep in futon. The mattress were not as comfortable as we thought.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, convenient location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Staff - fabulous Location - excellent; very close to Gion district & Nishiki food stalls Rooms - stayed in traditional tatami floors; clean, comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a great place to stay!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Location: There is a cool vegan restaurant nearby called Ukishima Garden.
We enjoyed our stay at the Watazen Ryokan! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Taka spoke very good English and provided us with a great plan to visit Kiyomizu upon our arrival before the room was ready. Thanks Taka-san! The rooms are very clean and the bathrooms are modern. We did not have dinner there, but the Japanese style breakfast was very good. It is in close proximity to multiple shopping areas and walking distance to the Gion area. We used the public bath which is a new experience for American's but relaxing and different. I would stay here again if I had the opportunity.
4 out of 5
by Enrico

Convenient and clean ryokan

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
This ryokan is very conveniently located in the very city center of Kyoto. There are a number of local shops and restaurants a few stones away. Staff is very nice and helpful good English is spoken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Ryokan Experience

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Our one night stay was a great experience in a traditional Japanese guest house. The staff were very friendly and informative with big smiles. Our meal was served to our room which we enjoyed and finished the night with a bath. I was hesitant to go in the bath nude but there was no body around (luckly). Breakfast was in the dining hall and again a lovely experience. There is also a great little pub opposite with great beer. Location suited us on this trip and I hope to return again one day soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice ryokan superb location excellent facilities

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Only problem was that wifi kept dropping out. Onsen waa great. Plenty of futons in the room to lay one on top of each other to get some reasonable padding for a bed.