Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A relaxing stay in Kyoto

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Had a terrific experience here. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The location was convenient to great restaurants, shops and transportation. We were able to check our bags before checking in and after checking out. Staff were extremely accommodating. The Yukatas and futons were comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location and staff

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: It is a ryoken, which means that you will be sleeping on a mat on the floor. It is reasonably comfortable, but tough sometimes to get up off the mat.
Location: lots of things nearby.
Location in middle of Central Kyoto was excellent. We loved the energy of the area, and the activity of people and bikes everywhere. The fact that restaurants were everywhere and shops were in abundance made every walk a pleasure. Staff was terrific. Very interested and attentive.
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

luxurious

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: luxurious and being close to the main tourist area
Location: nishiki market is merely a 10 mins walk. lots of cafes and restaurants around the area.
we went to the hotel earlier and wasn't able to check in until 4pm. however, they gladly took our bags into storage and told us that it will be in our room after 4pm. our booking included dinner and they were extremely accommodating when i informed them that we have someone who has allergies (despite the limited communication, it was a success!) the room is a beautiful japanese room with a modern toilet and bathroom. the bed is done after dinner and they even gave us a little crane to wish us a good night sleep! breakfast was a full blown jap style breakfast in the banquet hall (although each room is seated in individual tables) and delicious. theyeven provide coffee at the lounge area after your meal. checking out was fun with them escorting us all the way to the entrance of the ryokan and holding up a banner to wish us farewell. it is definitely a one of a kind experience
5 out of 5
by Bernadette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Bharat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
All staff was so helpful
5 out of 5
by Eric

Japanese-style / Warm Reception

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful mid-sized hotel with boutique-quality service. Basement onsen was great for a pre-dinner break. They made a traditional Japanese hotel very accessible to the Western traveller. The staff's graciousness made the stay a real treat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ryokan love

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it! Great Ryokan stay. Our Japanese breakfast was amazing!