Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best best best !

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Such an amazing place. The caretaker is very cute ! She even put our pig doll under the bed sheet for us ! Food and onsen are all perfect ! Definitely will come again !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Fabulous experience

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The staff were lovely, great facilities and service.
Location: Great location in downtown Kyoto.
This was a great experience in a traditional setting. The staff were lovely, great service and amazing facilities. The public baths were spotless and relaxing and the breakfast option was amazingly presented and tasted great. We all loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler Arizona

Amazing service!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Service, design and comfort most of all the staff
Location: Golden Pavillon, Bamboo Forest, etc...
From the moment we checked in to the moment we departed never had such a wonderful experience! Food was excellent. Brief matcha tea upon arrival from out of the rain. Onsen was amazing, dinner was fab! I would recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great location but very run down

Posted Apr 10, 2017
This place costs ALOT but do not expect quality, it feels cheap and run down. Popular with Japanese families though - maybe works with many people sharing room. Shared bath is nice enough though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamuela, HI

Excellent Japanese style hotel in Kyoto

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Staff walked us to the street when we checked out to wish us well on our journey.
Location: Centrally located to a number of shrines, temples and shopping areas.
Great stay and great breakfast in our room! The staff were very nice and made our stay enjoyable. The room was wonderful, and the Japanese style breakfast served in our room was a highlight of our stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kyoto.
4 out of 5
by Will

Great room at modern inn.

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing Japanese style inn. Great service and amenities. Only negatives were spotty wifi and firm floor futon bedding (still passable though, just used to a softer bed). Also not too close to train station (closest is a 12 minute walk), but only 2 blocks from Nishiki food market. In room breakfast was fantastic and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Traditional ryokan with onsen in central Kyoto

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Offer Japanese breakfasts after the first morning.
Convenient location in central Kyoto, amidst the modern buildings and near transit, but feeling very secluded. You will sleep on futons rolled out by your room attendant on the tatami mats. In the morning the attendant rolls them up and puts them away and serves you breakfast (fantastic Japanese food for the first breakfast) in your room. Enjoy the kaiseki dinner in-room for a treat. Try the onsen and soak in the hot water while looking at the beautiful stone wall with waterfall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Orbitz
While the facilities were very clean and the location was great, I found the front desk staff to be a little frigid and curt, they had a very limited command of English also. The futons were a bit thin and we had to ask for more pillows. The public baths were lovely though. A nice ryokan.l but overall I have to say that I didn't feel particularly welcomed here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard

Chic little spot

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very good property with excellent service