Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Charming ryokan in central Kyoto.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
This ryokan was a real find. Located in an upmarket district of Kyoto, it is very close to the station and near local shops such as a calligraphy shop selling brushes, small craft shops selling ceramics and stationary, small restaurants and even 2 French boulangeries should you want an alternative breakfast. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We used the onsen twice and in the evening they haddifferent Japanese cultural activities each day to try such as origami, sake tasting and Japanese speaking. There is a small tea ceremony each morning in the lobby. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Beautiful space, kind hosts, public bath, many free activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great traditional hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
This is a great little ryokan with lovely staff. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and help with any questions you have. It's in a convenient location, just down the road from the subway station. The breakfast was nice and you have a choice of Japanese or Western. There is also the facility to rent or buy a yukata (summer kimono) which is great fun especially if you have kids. I would definitely consider staying here again in future.
5 out of 5
by Chantel

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, it was a pleasant stay with the ryokan..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Modern yet traditional ryokan in Kyoto

Posted Dec 17, 2016
We stayed one night here, in one of the most charming and best shopping areas of Kyoto. We had previously stayed in a traditional ryokan in a different part of town, and though that one was nice too, Nishiyama was more modern, updated, with a sake tasting in the lobby in the evening, and a traditional tea service in the morning after check out. They were accommodating to a fault (allowing us to store our things before and after checkout as we explored the city), and positioned in a really convenient area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple ryokan with excellent location

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Room was a breath of fresh air from my cramped Tokyo accommodation. The earth tones of tatami mats, table/chair and sliding doors creates a peaceful and re-energizing environment. Daily morning tea was a delight with a new Kyoto treat before heading off to the shrines so overall I was pleased with the space, design and peace this room gave me,. Tea ceremony downstairs was interesting to watch and the hostess performing it was fastidious and pleasant. Front desk staff were alright but nothing outstanding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice feel of Ryokan

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The garden is very nice and relaxing! The public bath is nice.
Cons: The English can be improve.
We had enjoyed the stay and a good experience of Japanese tradition. The tatami was very comforty with cushion. It is very good for back. The location is good and easy access to the site seeing. It is convince to take bus about 10-15 min get to the destination. Also, there is Tea Ceremony every morning. The traditional Japanese breakfast was a good experience and well worth it (2000 yens). It has a plenty of food and lasting way pass lunch (you can skip lunch). The staff is very helpful and friendly. Wish they could speak more English, that will be great! Definitely will come back if I visit Kyoto again! Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel with great Japan style living

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Very cozy hotel with great host. Location is close to the shopping area. We had the breakfast at the hotel and it was amazing.