Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Elsa from Lisbon

Good value for money Ryokan experience

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
My husband and I wanted to try the Ryokan experience and Hirashin seemed to have the best value for money. The rooms are big and futons are layed out on the floor. The staff is great and very helpful but the language barrier is very present sometimes as it is normal in Japan. Location is great for sightseeing. It was overall a good experience but would point out the following: it was very warm in our room, we could not get the AC to work properly and would also recommend trying out breakfast at least once but be advised it is completely "japanese", no bacon eggs or toasts :) It was worth it for the experience.
4 out of 5
by Take Huat from KL

Good.

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Ottawa

Best ryokan in Kyoto!

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Best service I have ever received and I mean at ANY hotel, no matter how many stars! From the people at the front desk to the lady that brought us breakfast, they were all so incredibly friendly and accommodating. Location was the best! Highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Small hotel with sufficient facilities

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is located within the heart of the city and a few bus stops away from Gion. Very near Tokyu Hands, Daimaru department store and lots of other shops and eateries! At the basement are two hot spring baths which is really nice to soak in after a day of going around the city. Hotel staff at reception can speak English and are very helpful!
5 out of 5
by Donatas from Oslo

The best stay in Kyoto

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
I absolutely enjoyed this experience of a traditional hotel stay in Kyoto. Everything was absolutely fantastic: the location, cleanliness, staff. We didn't get a chance to enjoy the food in this hotel - it has to be reserved in advance...
4 out of 5
by RT from Bangkok, Thailand

Quiet place in a convenient location

Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels
The staff are really helpful. They were more than willing to help us find out how to get to the laces we wanted to go; on one occasion the gentleman actually walked down with to make sure that we found the station entrance. The hotel is a little bit old and in need of some repair. The beds were great and the rooms quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by T.T. from San Francisco, CA

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels
Location is convenient enough, but does require subway transfer from Kyoto station. Close to Nishiki market and awesome ramen shops like Ippudo and Gogyo. Proximity to subway makes it relatively easy to get around. Not a traditional ryokan, but the tatami styled room was nice. We included breakfast option with our room, which was definitely worth it. The Japanese styled breakfast was amazing!