Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We had a good time at this hotel and it certainly was an experience. The hotel is a traditional Japanese inn. In our room we had a private shower and bathroom, however I understand that this isn't the case for all rooms. Housekeeping move the table out of the living space in the evening and put some mats on the floor for you to sleep on, not the most comfortable night sleep however great to experience. The rooms were basic, however this was inline with my expectations. The staff were all helpful and friendly, however spoke limited English inline with the rest of the local people we came across. Location was great, 5/10 minute walk to the subway, bus stop and local food market. Both the trains and buses announce stops in English. I understand that if you order breakfast or dinner, this is served to you in your room by traditional Japanese staff, this isn't something we requested.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lost In Translation? Regardless poor service

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Really nice building, spacious rooms, good location..apparently good food, and apparently nice bath.
Cons: Worst service I've had anywhere on any trip. Treated poorly, concerns dismissed. No one advised if I missed something in the Ryokan process.
Had a very bad experience that may partially be on me. When arriving I came late and was in a rush to see a couple temples before closing. I mentioned this to the younger gentleman who took me to my room when he said the attendant would be right out. He mentioned to tell front desk if I was leaving. I had thought the attendant would be in to provide a spot of green tea and make me welcome, but I opted to get to a temple instead. I waited for the attendant and no one came. I went to the front desk and asked about ordering a bottle of saki to my room. I was told that's only when ordering room service, and he was sure I could find a bottle of saki somewhere else. AT NO POINT was there any mention to me that I missed the boat on ordering anything to my room, or meeting with attendant was crucial. A couple hours later I came back and thought it would be fun to hit the resteruant so well advertised on their website and all marketing materials. I was told the resteraunt was closed, and I was told that I could not order anything to my room. So, I went out and had a great dinner a couple blocks away. When I was getting back into my room I saw, and smelled and wonderful meal being delivered to another room on my floor by the staff. It certainly wasn't take out from down the street. I expressed my concern and was ignored. I asked about a robe for the bath (which every place with baths that cost a fraction of the price have) and was told there aren't any and I could wear my clothes.
5 out of 5
by Jenny

Excellent location! Enjoy a Japanese Ryokan!

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed staying here. Hotel is located in a great area- we hired bikes from the bike shop in our street and rode to Nijo Castle and Imperial palace. Great fun and a very easy ride.Hotel has onsen -one for men and one for women. Nishiki Markets are a five minute walk. Great restaurants and food choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Excellent Ryokan in the heart of Kyoto

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location, Friendly Staffs, Perfect Room
Location: Lots of food joints around. Nishiki market is 8-10mins away.
It's walkable to many izakayas around the area, 8-10 mins walk to Nishiki Market. It's a bit noisy - sound from the street can be very disturbing. Not sure if they have rooms that is not facing the streets. That was the only reason I couldn't sleep well. Room is very large for a Japanese hotel, typical tatami room. Staffs are very nice, they setup our beds while we were out for dinner as we did not opt for the room with meal. We requested for in-room breakfast the day before as we did not book any; for an reasonable 1k yen/pax. Breakfast spread was absolutely fantastic homecooked flavours - yudofu, tamago, grilled fish, miso soup, potato salad, rice and pickles. We picked the last slot 8.30am. Food is served in the room!! It's a must to have a meal in the room for the experience. Yukata is provided in the room - its essential to wear to the hot bath downstairs, and yes you need to go all naked but you can bring a small face towel. It's a small bath room with a huge bath tub, nothing fancy inside. It may be a little awkward but it's normal in Jap. The lady who brought us to our room, served us breakfast, brought us Yukata, is very friendly!! She did everything we could to make us feel comfortable even though she can't speak our language - such a nice lady. Overall, I would recommend this place for Ryokan experience in the city. Not the most traditional but we enjoyed the experience and convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, Au

Comfortable hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Wotif
It was our first Ryokan experience and we loved it. The place was a small establishment but very close to transport and food areas. The staff was very caring and friendly. The public bath was clean and welcoming. The breakfast was awesome.. true Japanese style!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommendable hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed very much our stay at Ryokan Kohro. Excellent staff and very helpful. Very good experience to stay in a Ryokan with onsen. Close to train station, shopping, market, restaurants, etc. very memorable and enjoyable stay. Only one unpleasant comment was our room was on the second floor and by the road. It is a bit noisy early in the morning. Other than that if is highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Piscataway, NJ

convenient location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is situated within a walking distance to Nishi Market, which is very convenient. There is a 7/11 store nearby makes the need very accessible
Cons: The carpet in the hallway is about time to replace.
Location: Nishi market The museum of Kyoto Palace various selection of restaurants for ramen, sushi, etc.
The hotel crew was very attentive in setting up the tatami mat both day and night, which makes our first time experience with tatami much more convenient. The room was clean with various traditional snacks on each day to taste. Very considerate in providing free umbrella on rainy days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The location is very easy to go different tourists' areas. There is a parking near the hotel
Cons: I like the location of the hotel. The price is very reasonable
Location: Very good location. Walkable to different tourist spots. Very convenience to buy accessories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Great japanese style hotel in the city.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Location: Walking distance to imperial gardens. Nearby subway stations and buses will take you to most of the iconic shrines around Kyoto.
It's a Ryokan-style hotel with traditional tatami floors and attentive room-service staff. I haven't been to a Ryokan before so I can't comment on how authentic it is, but as a foreigner visiting Kyoto it was a pleasant cultural experience. Personally, I found sleeping on the tatamis comfortable, just bear in mind the thin futons are on the firm side. Japanese-style breakfast was a bit expensive, but worth it considering it's served in your room by diligent staff and features many small Japanese dishes, mostly savory. It's on a small street in downtown Kyoto, so don't expect the picturesque gardens of the countryside inns, but it's a nice neighbourhoods with great little shops and small restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Excellent location! Good Japanese Ryokan experienc

Posted May 8, 2016
It was great, but tatami mats and futons are not so comfortable.