Ratings based on 718 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday in Kyoto

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Room was clean with all essentials. While the bed could be more comfortable, the staff was very helpful and pleasant. Coffee shop downstairs was convienent. Location of hotel was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smal Bathrooml

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Location and Family Mart is close by.
Location: Kennin ji
Although the location is good, bathrooms are too small to be comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairly large room but far from main area

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, spacious, friendly/helpful staff
Room is clean, comfortable, and quite large for Japanese standards. However, the location is a bit of a walk from the main area (about 15 mins walk). Nonetheless, it is still very convenient to and from Kyoto Station, as there are 3 (very frequent) buses right outside the hotel lobby which is only about a 12 minute ride.
4 out of 5
by Alison

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
Place was great; clean, friendly, and super close to the Gion/Pontocho district.
3 out of 5
by KIMBERLEY

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
My wardrobe at home is larger than the miniscule bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Comfortable hotel good value

Posted Jul 6, 2017
I stayed for two nights and was pleased at the size of the room compared to other small rooms I have stayed in Japan. This room also had a massage chair which was amazing after days of lots of walking and carrying bags! Staff were always friendly and spoke basic English. There is a restaurant in the hotel and a cafe downstairs. It's a very short walk to Gion and is walking distance to the Jishu Shrine, the walk is lovely and there are many little food shops and gift shops along the way up the hill- it's very busy with tourists. The hotel was clean, bathroom a little bit small but it was ok. I would recommend to a friend and I would stay again if I visit Kyoto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good tourist hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Good size room, nice dining area on 10th floor with view of old town and hills. Bus stop outside with 4 buses to station and around town. Hotel sells bus passes so we used buses a lot. Can get bus 4,17, 205 to hotel from central station stop A1/A2. I was shocked when i looked under bed and found a thick layer of dust, complained when i left but didn't want it stirred up while we were staying there. Helpful desk staff and in restaurant and nice balance of Japanese and western food for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Very friendly staff and the lobby and room great

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Unexpectedly big room for a single. Very clean and modern room and lobby area. Only a 10 minute walk from the main shopping street which was no problem and meant the area was quite quiet. A few nice bars and cafés close by. The road adjacent to the one that the hotel was on is a lovely walk up to the shopping area with lots of cafes, restaurants and shops. Definitely stay again and recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

good location , great value

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: not much
Location: On the river so you can walk along river for scenery, especially during cherry blossom time. Gorgeous. Easy to walk or short taxi rides.
located near downtown attractions. Easy to catch taxi to nearby locations, fares are reasonable. Use trains or subways for farther locations. Get a room with a view of river. Nice firm beds. Small bathroom but adequate. Nice staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is good

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Location was good,Near the station,receptionists were nice