Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Lovely Boutique Hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Within walking distance from the Kyoto Imperial Palace, and plenty of public transport options nearby. Lots of restaurants in the area too.
Great hotel; the rooms are lovely, each one is unique, designed by a different artist. The bathrooms are equipped with a jacuzzi large enough for two, and there are high-quality amenities provided too. The staff is great; they speak English and are helpful, polite and professional. The breakfast is delicious too. We had the 2,000 Yen Western style breakfast, and it was excellent value and beautifully presented. They also have a rooftop bar, great for a drink at sunset. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Chic, modern and very well located

Posted Aug 2, 2017
This beautifully designed, modern hotel had all the comfort amenities a boutique hotel should offer including a beautiful bathtub to soak you aching feet after a day of sightseeing. The curtained walls in the room were really cool, we hadn't seen anything like before, but thought they mimicked the traditional Japanese screened walls - only a twist. The location was very handy for a jog in the Imperial Palace park. You could easily walk from the hotel to the local food market and shopping area in Central Tokyo. Just take the city buses anywhere you want to go to visit shrines, temples and all that Kyoto has to offer and you are set.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place to stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Stayed there five nights in June 2017. The hotel staff are really wonderful and helpful, it is a small hotel with only 13 rooms, so very quiet. Apparently because it is so small you have to tell them ahead of time if you want breakfast, as I guess they don't always have the need to serve it. The roof terrace is similar, with very few people there typically, but a great spot to have a drink. I stayed in Room 403, which has interior curtains around the walls that give it an ephemeral kind of elegant look. But there are only a few windows, and those are white translucent, so no view out. It feels a bit claustrophobic. I am sure some of the other rooms are better, this was the less expensive "semi-suite." Considering reviews i had seen about the "black room", i would suggest asking the hotel ahead of time which specific room you are reserving, as they are all different and it might help with expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice Boutique Hotel, Incredible Service

Posted Jun 5, 2017
We had a lovely stay at the Screen Hotel. The room was spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located, so access to places of interest was easy. But the service was the best part - just exceptional, even by Japanese standards. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory experience

Posted May 14, 2017 on CheapTickets
Nice staff, great location (close to the river and tourist sites), and room was quite spacious even though it was a little bit dark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Modern & comfy

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Great amenities and space
Cons: Nothing that could be improved for us
Location: Not right in the middle of town, in a quieter area near imperial gardens. Great st with eateries and boutique shops. way from the hustle and bustle.
A boutique hotel, very spacious rooms, very warm, we were there in middle of winter, close enough to main attractions. We used two bikes provided by the hotel, great way to get around. Staff were so helpful, booking restaurants, taxis and gave great directions. When we got there we were welcomed with a cup of tea! Beautiful after a cold journey. We had a room with a view at the front of the hotel. Got to see the snow falling in the morning. In house amenities were great, nice bath tub, a great little coffee machine. Big Bed. Would recommend for a bit of luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Unique and modern

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Hire a bike for 1500 yen and 5 min ride to imperial palace. Great morning activity. We spent a lot of time shopping and eating in our street.
Great location, comfortable rooms. Fantastic breakfast, paid for separately but well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel well located close to the Imperial Plac

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: hip, small and boutique
Cons: the only trouble was that the room was a bit dark with few windows.
we staid 3 nights in Tokyo and the hotel was comfortable, well located and reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
This is a boutique hotel conveniently located close to the center. After typical business hours there is just one staff member on site. They are very friendly, but ability to speak English varies. When Internet service for the entire hotel went down, the person available could not understand that, and could not be persuaded (due in part to his very limited English) to call their Internet Service Provider. Room is clean but pretty basic. Bathroom is nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful room; fantastic service. One of the most pleasant hotels I have stayed in.