Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A true review

Posted Nov 22, 2016
This hotel is starting to look tired especially in the bathroom area, however the staff were excellent in all departments. Breakfast, excellent, many choices for all. Just be aware that the hotel is close to the airport but a 24 Euro taxi ride from the city, hiring a car would be the best option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel close to the airport.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location close to airport. Safe parking. Nice pool area good views, friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Cold buffet breakfast.
The Royal hotel is a good quality hotel close to the airport, but far enough away to be in a quiet area with plenty of safe parking. It was good for an overnight stop or a longer holiday. It is about 15km away from Thessaloniki centre but there is a beach and the town of Pairia close by. The fittings in the hotel are of good quality but slightly older, Staff were excellent at check in and check out. My only criticism was with the breakfast. The food itself was fine, but the chaffing dishes were lukewarm and everything was cold by the time it was at the table.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great views

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Beautiful hotel with nice views and anot amazing bar by the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Really lovely hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: I was only there one night.
Great. Thoroughly recommend this hotel. Lovely room, great staff, good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great choice if arriving late at the airport

Posted Jul 10, 2016
If like me your flight to Thessaloniki arrives late at night and you are travelling onwards into Greece, you'll probably want somewhere to stay that's near to the airport, easy to get to and quiet enough to ensure a good night's sleep. The Royal hotel ticks all these boxes and a few more besides (such as a nice pool and poolside bar). The room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet with good facilities, the staff courteous and helpful. Overall I think the hotel offers excellent value for money and I would definitely use it again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Very far away from everything!

Posted Nov 17, 2015
If you need a place to stay for one night then choose this hotel. If you need a place to stay for more than one night do NOT choose the Royal Hotel. They will charge you 20 Euros (total for a round trip ride) to and from the airport, which the airport is 2 miles away. Save your money and spend it on a hotel closer to the city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to airport

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Really good hotel with pool and great views near to airport. Good menu and wine too. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to airport, but not downtown

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Upgraded rooms, lobby and hotel and restaurant. Very good customer service and excellent staff.
Cons: Would be nice to have a complimentary hotel shuttle, but that isn't common to the area.
Location: Close to airport, little else.
Very nice quality hotel, high quality restaurant and bar, nice outdoor pool, clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent customer service. If you are looking to stay close to the airport this is definitely the place. It is a 20-25 euro ride downtown - one way, so if you are looking to be close to downtown Thessaloniki I would spend the extra money to stay downtown. We had an early morning flight and this location was perfect for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Overnight stay at the Royal Hotel - too short!

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, facilities
Location: We chose it because it was relatively near the hotel, although the other side to Thessaloniki. Not sure about what facilities were close by.
Because of our flight timings and subsequent travel arrangements, we needed an overnight stay at a hotel near the airport. The hotel was very helpful and arranged for us to be collected from the airport when we landed at 10.30 pm (we emailed the day before to arrange). The drive to the hotel was 10-15 mins and we were pleasantly surprised when we reached it. The hotel was very smart, the manager was extremely friendly and helpful and we were upgraded to a suite, followed by a complimentary drink at the bar. The rooms were of course excellent. We had a bar meal delivered to our room - good quality. Breakfast the next day was also very good, and the reception team were very helpful organising a taxi for our drive into Thessaloniki. Approx. 30 mins and c 20 euro. I really wish we had known more about the hotel before we arrived. If we had, we would have scheduled at least an extra day's stay to take full advantage of facilities and hospitality. I wonder how many people, like us, look for a stopover after a late flight and then move on. The quality of this hotel and its fantastic staff deserve more. Having said that, there were quite a few other guests at breakfast, so that was good! If you have a car, this is definitely worth a stopover for a day or two. However, even without a car, taxi access is reasonably priced and I believe there are buses too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from England

Very comfortable hotel in a convenient location

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: comfort land ocation
Cons: Food offering
Location: Thessalonaki city is near but we did not visit on this occasion. Being close to the airport there was easy access to car hire and onward journey.
We spent two nights after a late flight into Thessaloniki. The hotel organised transport which was efficient and good value. The pool was very pleasant and all the staff were helpful and amiable. The food was quite good but could be improved.