Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning view. Ok motel.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
The scenery is amazing. Room is right on the beach. On property restaurant on a high cliff over looking the sea. Stunning. Food was ok to good. We have been going there for 20 or so years. Prior owners had kept up with improvements but once Clarion bought it it seams like they have not. Good beds. Our carpet stained. Thin creaky floors. We come back only for the on beach view and Surf sounds out our window and memories we had there. My view....over priced at $170 night but the Oregon coast has become very over crowded so they can charge what ever. You are paying for the location not the motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate our returning guests and your concerns over improvements are taken very seriously. We have been working hard these last few weeks as the season slows to begin some projects that will assure the price feels fitting when staying with us. The new beach access is already finished, new room improvement items have been ordered and maintenance scheduled. We hope you stay with us again and enjoy the changes. Sincerely, Sharleen Hughes Manager Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Breathtaking view

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Our bed was a little hard, but great view very clean. Although the hotel is a little older, they keep it updated well. The building we were in was "adult only" so no little kids running above us (love em but it was more relaxing ;))
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodland

Ocean view

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Only one night as we were there for whale watching trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Whale watching

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome ocean view, whales right out in front of our room! Nice sunsets.
1 out of 5
by Don from Seattle

Clarion - The Broken Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
The in-room fireplace was out-of-order. The toilet seat was broken. The toilet handle was broken. Balcony door lock was broken and would not lock. The phone cord was broken and would not stay in the handset. The hotel accounting practice double charged the room fees to our credit cards in excess of $150 and would not refund (stating the reservation was made direct with the hotel and not through Hotels.com).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear valued Guest, I am so sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. i do apologize for the issues with the toilet. The room had been quality checked prior to your arrival and I am not sure how that could have been missed. I know we fixed it for you the next morning, but I can see how it would have been disappointing the first evening. The fireplace was also repaired I believe that morning although it was actually not a feature you had booked in your reservation. If that was not disclosed at check in, I will speak with the front desk staff as we do want all of our guests to have the best experience possible. I also would like to ask you to call us if the authorization you may have had on your debit card by your bank has not been released by now. As was on your receipt, the charges are accurate, however debit cards can authorize additional funds occasionally, especially when a guest is traveling out of area. I would have been happy to speak with your bank if you had liked to see if they could have been released more quickly for you. We try very hard to accommodate all of our guests needs because we want nothing but a relaxing time watching whales from the ocean front rooms here at the Surfrider. We again apologize for your dissatisfaction and we will be using your feedback to improve our services.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view but pet friendly means urine odor.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean, amazing ocean view.
Cons: Not a fan of pet friendly because I don't have pets and it pretty much guarantees there will be odor. Febreez can only go so far.
Location: Great food and views. Whale watching
It was clean and maintained except for the reek of urine on the floor near right side of bed. Even with that I would stay there again. Pretty good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I appreciate your comments. Pet friendly rooms can be difficult to maintain. We do have rooms on site that are not pet friendly and would certainly have been a better fit for you. Even if you do book with an outside party, please call the hotel directly so that we can make sure to get you in a better choice. One of our buildings is adult only, no pets with a fireplace and a whirlpool tub! We are also listening to our guests and have most of the pet rooms scheduled for new carpet this coming month. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will see us again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very good service, cleanliness was great, beach view was great also. Was just disappointed that beach access was unavailable during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the kind words. We do have a beach access on site. It is located right beside the restaurant. The other access was closed this year because the storm season was a little too exciting last winter I'm afraid and it completely washed out the stairs. Getting to that beautiful beach is important! So the new access was completed right away. I am so sorry that wasn't better explained to you. We hope you will be back soon to enjoy it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
As we opened the door to our room, the sun was shining thru the windows and we could see whales spouting in the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Sharleen Hughes, Manager, Hotel Management
I love watching the whales! It is so nice to see that you had a good time with us. Thank you for your response. We hope you will be able to come back again soon! Warmly,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view of the ocean! I'd stay there again!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Just two miles from Depoe Bay! Nice bar, good food and friendly staff! We loved sitting out on our deck watching the whales and enjoying our coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Sharleen Hughes, Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your time in writing a review. Positive feedback is always nice to have and share with the staff. We value our guests and hope to have you as one of our returning ones each year! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Surfrider resort. The view was fantastic both from inside the room & on the balcony. The beach, which is down some very easy steps, was really fun. (Just ask our Chocolate Lab!) It was nice to have a restaurant right there, plus there is a coffee shop and grocery store a short distance. We like the location. It is a little ways from Depot Bay, so it is not in the tourist hub bub. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Sharleen Hughes, Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and I'm so happy that you had a good time. The dogs can be as big a part of our guests as the people themselves here! Our whole team invites you to stay with us again soon. Sincerely,