Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philomath, OR

Management went Above and Beyond

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The view, the staff, the dinner - no complaints!
Cons: The pool towels could be larger and softer
Location: Newport is so diverse and beautiful! There is beach combing, bay front shopping, sea lions, wine tasting, whale watching, and a magnificent aquarium
Upon arrival, we were greeted by amazing staff and given a spectacular room, however, it was on the third floor and my mother who was visiting from back east was unable to climb the stairs. The manager was at the desk when we went back in to explain our dilemma and not only did she find us another room on the ground floor but in order to receive the same amazing view, she upgraded us for the first night at no cost! My mother was so impressed that she decided we should stay an extra night and bring other family over from the valley for a couple nights. We have always been impressed with the Embarcadero but have now become even more certain of why we will always stay here when visiting the coast. In regards to the restaurant - the Bad A Crab Boil was excellent, however, we very much miss being able to have breakfast with that view!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Hotel in Newport

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The room we were given was at one point a smoking room despite our asking for nonsmoking. The carpet was dirty, couch broken down and uncomfortable and the kitchen was not clean. Our room was located just over the laundry facility so we could not open our door due to the chemical smell. Not sure if the stale smoke or chemicals was worse. I've been to this hotel before through a private party and had no issues. I won't rent through the hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scappoose, OR

Our Room was awesome.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Being on the bay and we had the swimming pool mostly to ourselves. We had a great time.
Cons: The noise from the other rooms. If you have little ones that need their sleep it doesn't happen till about 11:00-12:00
Location: Love how close to old town you are and the aquarium is close by.
When you are down on the lower level room the rooms above you can hear everything that is going on in that room. If you go to bed earlier then them you will be woken up. The room was awesome. Plenty of room and plenty of view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Need tons of improvements

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The lady who checked us in was rude, annoyed with having to print our reservation as she didn't have it with her pile. She said we were there too early at almost 3:00 pm and when we asked her about lunch around there she told us to check Yelp as it's a personal choice and she's scared to recommend places????? Rules or bylaws existe for the safety and comfort of all of the users and if you are asked to shower before entering the pool for Christ sake do it. There were a couple of families whom entered the pool just as they were, there were babies and toddlers with them and all they did was ask do you have to go potty??! Swimmers exist for a reason people! A little girl just pooped on the pool and needless to say we only stayed one night instead of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the bay.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Right on the bay, has their own crab docs and boat rentals.
Cons: better sound insulation between units
Location: Ripley's believe it or not and the aquarium are both near by along with the shopping strip and Moe's.
Nice place to stay, we heard our neighbors above us but otherwise had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: The view!
Very relaxing. We've been here before and will go again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, or

not clean and uncomfortable

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: mattress
Cons: Customer service, furniture, overall upgrades to make the place functional.
First thing I noticed I we sat down was a wrapper of a prescription medication that treats opioid dependency on the table. the furniture looked and feel as if it was from the 1980's, totally uncomfortable to sit on and since it turned into a rainy weekend so we ended sitting on the floor. Second thing was the noise. the walls are so thin you can hear everything your neighbor was doing. But worst was when a group of guests showed up at 1 am and banged at our door. This guys ended up in the room above us, and since the walls are so thin and they also had few little kids it pretty soon became impossible to sleep. I called the front desk to complain, but I'm not sure if they even came to check, for the ruckus above continued for another couple hours. When I mentioned this in the morning to the receptionist she only commented that, yes they did receive a call from me at 1 am. There was not even an apology or anything. I also must mentioned the bathroom. When we came in the sliding door was just hanging, it was not operational you could not close it. I had to fix this myself. One thing that was great was the mattress. I must admit they went all out on it, it was memory foam. I wish the rest of the furniture was like the mattress. With everything said, place had a great view and mattress, everything else was below standard for the price we paid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location, very outdated.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
After reading mixed reviews we decided to give the Emarcadero a try, the location was beautiful and the price was right but our room was very outdated. In fairness to the resort, many rooms are individually owned and decorated so the resort can't necessarily take all of the blame. I recommend calling and asking about a room prior to booking through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Great hotel. Great staff. First experience but it's going to be our go to coast destination for now on. Huge room with more than we expected with a view to match. Loved it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

The only highlight is the crabbing dock

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Very outdated room, bedsprings were popping out, on site restaurant has minimal menu, dog poop all over parking lot, unhelpful staff. On the plus side, there's a private crabbing dock with cookers. Just beware that once you check out, they say you're allowed to use the dock for the day, but the special key they give you only allows you access to the dock once. And no access to restrooms. So if you leave for any reason (lunch, bathroom, etc), you'll have to track down an employee to let you in.