Ratings based on 2,438 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
It was good we had a good view and had great parking in our part of the hotel and close to food. The beds were a little used and TV wasn't that great but had newer chairs and a nice bathroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Beds/pillows are not comfortable. Fridge ran constantly. Didn't replace glasses on second day. Service below par at bar, restaurant. Caution tape around stairway. Will not stay here again. They do have a great view and beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Room shakes!!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Pet area was well lite.
Cons: Most Shilo Inns provide a breakfast-they only give you a $2 off coupon. Update the room interiors. The TV was a small Phillips set-no DVR
Location: Nye Beach Aquarium Walk along the waterfront
Check-in/out was pleasant. They allowed us to check-in around 2:30 PM since my traveling companion was feeling ill. Room was clean but hasn't been updated in years. Anytime someone walked in front of the room (located in Building A first floor)or in the room, the whole room shook. I made the front desk aware of this problem and they knew about it but had no indication they were going to sure up the building structure. Also, there was a light bulb missing in one of the lamps and the refrigerator was not working properly. I reported both incidents to the front desk and they sent a maintenance person immediately. He replaced the light bulb and plugged the refrigerator back in (we were unaware). However, when we opened up the refrigerator door the next morning, everything was frozen. I reported it to the front desk when we checked out, but they didn't seem to think it was a problem. They charge $25/day pet fee but didn't provide any extra blankets or towels (thank goodness we brought our own). After I returned home, I called them about a separate charge on my Visa. The front desk person who answered the phone said she would have the manager look into it. The call was on Monday-it is now Thursday!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Wonderful breakfast with a great serving staff.
Cons: Security could be improved for single people.
Location: Great drive along coast line. Wonderful walks along beach.
Creepy guy at hotel bar kept trying to sit by me, had to keep moving. BREAKFAST was GREAT. R.oom was good location, but view could be better
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Has an ocean view.
Cons: Tear down the building, build a new one and have it run by someone other than Shilo.
Hotel is very old, in horrible shape, the rooms smell and staff not so good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Junction City, OR

Disappointed

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Old, dated, small and loud rooms. Overpriced. Really only paying for the view. Next time I'd rather trade the view for a cleaner, more updated room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Beds were very low to the ground and hard as a rock, as were the pillows. Woke up with sore shoulders both mornings. Thin walls and ceilings, could hear all the neighboring guests. Location was alright. I would recommend spending more for a hotel on same strip; at least then you will sleep comfortably.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We stayed in a room with a great ocean view.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Don't order room service, the food was so so! The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon City, Oregon.

Used to be nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff are very polite and friendly.
Cons: Entire Inn needs remodeled and restaffed with energetic employees proud to have a job.
Location: Newport Science Aquarium Yaquina Bay
We were told that this Shilo Inn had all ocean views which we thought was awesome until we learned we were put on the bottom floor with the parking lot (same side as ocean) in our window's view. Room door was warped on its hinges so a powerful shoulder was needed to push open or close. Our room had twin beds which was again, awesome, but both beds were very close to the floor and the mattresses were worn out. Bathroom was small with bathroom mirror, counter and sink located in bedroom area. Shilo's restaurant was quiet and peaceful. Floor carpet was stained and dirty. Wait staff very slow to take orders. Ordered a mixed drink from the bar as we waited for our food. The drink arrived 35 minutes later and there were only two customers in the bar. Ordered a Chicken Caesar Salad which was stale. I expected Shilo Inn to be a top of the line hotel like the Red Lion used to be. We will definitely be staying at Motel 6 next time. Shilo Inn in Newport, Oregon needs remodeled and needs new restaurant staff. I'll give them 1/2 a star! :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
It was a cold rainy night but the heater worked and the view was great