Ratings based on 2,486 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room, bad service at restaurant

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Toilet had urin and pubic hair on seat. Waiter forgot to take our order at restaurant. We waited for 1.5 hours to get food. Then they over charged us. Don't stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hillsboro, OR

Interesting

Posted Apr 17, 2017
What an interesting stay. It's hard to even start this review. First off when checking the the staff was wonderful very welcoming and very nice and sweet. That was about the only really plus side to there. Once in our room was a different story. Got in our room and it doesn't look like they have really renovated the place for a long time. Everything seemed really old and out dated. The TV was so crappy all channels had a fog or 3D look to them. The carpet didn't feel really clean. The bathroom was good (could use an upgrade but was fine). Someone set the alarm to go off at midnight in the room which wasn't right at all. You could hear everything at this hotel. People above and around you, walking, laughing, talking, watching TV, almost like you were all in 1 room. They are a pet friendly hotel but all night a (sounded like a huge dog) was barking non stop. They should have one side of the hotel just for animals and their humans. Hotel staff said sorry nothing we can do about the dog barking. So for the whole night my Fitbit said I got only got a little over 3 hours of sleep for the night. It was terrible. Never again will I stay there. Not for that price ever again. It's a rip off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Room was not the cleanest, but over all ok. Misc. garbage on tv stand, such as bus ticket from February...but not dirty as in dirt buildup from dust etc... overall good room for price and good view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view but I wouldn't stay here again.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
It needs to be completely renovated ! Only thing that was good was the breakfast and cafe !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful, friendly staff but dirty room and facilit

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave my daughters a bucket/shovel to play at the beach and a beach ball for the pool.
Cons: Cleanliness of room and maintenance of pool water.
Location: Great location on beach and close to the aquarium.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the room was dirty (dog hair everywhere on the carpet) and the pools were dirty. We did not file a complaint but instead decided that we simply would not return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Room was clean, but pretty dated. Sheets were stained. We didn't have any soap, called the staff to bring some so we could wash hands and shower, but they never did.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean front property

Posted Apr 5, 2017
This hotel sits just above the beach and every room has an exceptional view of the ocean. It isn't a new hotel by any means and will have some issues here and there, but to have a view like that, some things can be overlooked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Apr 4, 2017
I showed up to a crowd of people waiting for clean rooms. No one in Newport wants to work I guess. I did have to wait but I was upgraded to the presidential suite. Nicest room I've stayed in to date. I appreciate the effort to make up for the inconvenience. I'll stay again. The staff was frazzled but very nice. Thanks guys and girls.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Wa

Condemn this hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Building B is structurally unsound. The pool got my husband and daughter extremely sick. Bedding was dirty and staff was unhelpful. It took several hours after check-in for a room to become available. Don't waste your time or money here, book far enough in advance to be sure to get a safe and sanitary hotel. We booked this one the night before and will never make that mistake again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Willamette Valley Oregon

Won't be returning here.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The view.
Cons: Larger TV. It's not the 90's anymore, people. The food was awful & waiter appeared to hate his job. The hotel is outdated. The pool area is dirty.
Location: Location is convenient to beach, food and window shopping.
This hotel needs a remodel! Took the kids to the pool. There appeared to be a pile of garbage that didn't make it into the dustpan along the edge of the tile wall... including a cigarette butt! The pool area needed a bleaching power washing to say the least! The front desk check in was slower than molasses as they couldn't find us in their system for quite some time. The elevator stopped 10 inches prior to every floor, then closed to readjust. The restaurant was horrible. We should have taken the advice of the woman leaving as we came in... she left before her food arrived due to the time it took. It took 15 minutes to get a menu. After we ordered, another 15 - after we tracked someone down - to get water. Another 15 minutes after they cleared our table before we got seconds on water. The chowder was warm, not hot. The calamari was awful... not crispy and nowhere near hot. You may expect such poor service if it's crowded but there were only 6 tables of people. The tub was moldy. If I'd wanted that, I could have stayed home. Our party of 4 had difficulties getting to sleep 2 nights while the kids above us must have been having an obstacle course going on. We went to breakfast on day 2 at another nearby hotel where the service and food was exceptional. We will be staying there on our next trip to Newport. Overall, the Shilo needs an upgrade in both the conditions of the building, the TV, the food and the service.