Ratings based on 1,792 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff

Posted Sep 26, 2017
The staff was great, the location couldn't be better, and the staff was so nice! We had a corner room, so I think it was larger than most.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place on mall

Posted Aug 27, 2017
enjoyed the location, easy walking distance of everything downtown!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location and Price

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Move air conditioning outlets away from rooms
Location: Right by Parliament building and the port.
Room very gloomy with only natural light from a light well which was full of noisy air conditioning equipment right outside our window so we couldn't open it - our room had no air conditioning so it was hot over night. The location of the hotel was good right in the middle of Karl Johan Gata and the price was good so overall it was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Artwork in hallways, old staircase, friendly staff, and quite decent breakfast options.
Cons: The rooms are a bit dated, such as the bathroom tiling and furniture. Carpet is worn. No A/C in rooms.
The exterior of the hotel is quite nice and the location downtown is prime being right on Karl Johan street. The lobby, large staircase, and staff are all fantastic here and the value for money is quite good compared to nearby hotels. The hallway carpeting and some aspects of the room are a bit dated, but not horrible. The lack of AC in my room (not sure if all rooms) was a bit rough, as you have to have the windows open. That would have been fine, but with windows open and pouring rain on 3rd floor, all you hear is water hitting the various systems outside and it makes for one awful amount of noise while trying to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Room is small but not unexpected right in downtown. Excellent location, central to everything. Staff was friendly and helpful, everyone spoke English very well. One day was a bit noisy due to loud music from a restaurant 1 block down. Otherwise, no issues. Breakfast that came with room cost was very good and better than most warm breakfasts in the US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Great location

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Location was perfect. Room on 5th floor facing Johan Gate was great. Our friends had 2nd floor rooms which were not as good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent location.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: It was very close to the train station and was right in the middle of the historical part of Oslo
Excellent location but room was very small and hot. Our room was over the kitchen exhaust so we couldn't even open our window. Breakfast was ok. Very easy check-in and staff were helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Check in is great Nice and convenient location Nice restaurants near by
5 out of 5
by Casey

Wonderful old hotel, awesome location.

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing location. Beautiful old hotel rooms n the heart of Oslo. Breakfast was so wonderful!! It was the best that we had anywhere in our European travels and it was included in the price. Room was nice and clean but older. No a.c. But windows open and there is a fan. In Oslo you don't really need a.c so it was fine.