Ratings based on 1,068 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do NOT book a single room at this hotel!

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
I needed to book a room in Oslo at short notice for a business meeting. There was not much availability in the city but Clarion Hotel Royal Christiania had single rooms available. No where on the hotels.com does the hotel state that ALL single rooms have a window which is directly facing the road and directly above the extremely noisy tram outside. Furthermore, the single rooms are TINY. So much so that they could only fit half a head board for the bed. Add all of this for the sum of 2025 NOK (approx £200) per night. Knowing that I would would spend the night being kept awake by the trams and having to keep retrieving my pillow from the floor I asked for a room change. After some disucssion I was offered a 'non-renovated' single room on the other side of the hotel. Whilst the room was indeed older, it was bigger, did not have trams rattling past every 5 mins and had a full head board. In the end I did get a good nights sleep, but I would not recommend anyone booking a single room at this hotel. They are too small and too noisy. Also the hotel should be embarrassed to charge these prices for such poor rooms!!! I travel to Oslo quite a lot for business and have had much better rooms for a much better price in the same area (near Oslo S station). I seriously recommend looking elsewhere for accommodation in central Oslo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york new york

In the middle of downtown Close to transports

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Excellent location Good shopping area Close to the opera house and other attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok.

Great location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The hotel sits just across the street from the main railway station. Oslo attractions are all in walking distance. That is very convenient. The room is clean. Staff are very helpful. We love a large varieties of breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Rooms are terrible, cramped, hotel is in poor condition overall. Lobby is a playground for kids from the neighborhood. Facilities are in disrepair. Booked for four nights, checked out after one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bryn Mawr, PA

Very well located, across from train station

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff knowledge of where to go and how to get there
Location: Near pedestrian street, water, new opera house, Nobel prize building, Royal Palace, Nl Art Gallery, and the ferries to go and visit other museums.
The hotel is very well located, central to a lot of things, and across from the train station. Easy to get to from the airport via train. Staff is very nice and helpful, but not always well informed of how to get to places. Take their map but don't rely on their information. Rooms are well furnished, clean and pleasant but very small. Don't expect a ballroom!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good but unremarkable hotel convenientlylocated

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Well located, friendly service, clean room.
Cons: Make breakfast a bit more interesting!
Location: See above - Oslo is quite a compact city so many hotels are "conveniently located" but the Clarion Christiania is particularly well placed.
This hotel has been fairly recently revamped and is clean and functional. Lobby staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant buffet breakfasts were invariably acceptable but unexciting and repetitive. The hotel is just across the road from the main railway station so excellent for getting to the airport. The bus station is nearby too. Likewise a metro station. The hotel is also really well placed within easy walking distance of the cathedral, the castle, the main shopping streets, the harbour and ferries to "museum island". If you can, get a room on an upper floor - from the 12th floor lobby the sunsets were spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what we wanted

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pillows were very large and could not control/ lower air con
Location: Near station , public transport yet walkable to everywhere a tourist would want
Very comfortable hotel. Informative helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet. Convenient for station and sights
3 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels