Ratings based on 1,142 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Scandic Holberg

Posted May 28, 2017
Nice hotel, good breakfast. Nice little Italian place right next door. 7/11 convenience store as well. 18 minute walk to shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Location and epic breakfast!

Posted May 24, 2017
This hotel is perfectly situated close to the dowtown core but enough space away to ensure quiet evenings. It is a very short walk to shopping, the marina, and museums. We will stay here again when we visit the beautiful city of Oslo! Bonus: The hotel's included breakfast was wonderful and offered so much variety; high quality cereals, eggs done two ways, oatmeal, fresh baked salmon and other fish, veggies, bacon, yogurts, teas and coffee, tons of fresh breads and spreads etc. Some of the best food we had during our trip. A great deal!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basildon

Tired, dated and hot

Posted May 17, 2017
The first impression of this hotel was not good - the only lift was out of order and the assigned room was in the 5th floor. When we finally made it up the stairs, we were greeted by trollies with linen, and bags of linen everywhere. The room was hot, and had a sloping ceiling with a window in it. There was little ventilation and despite the outside temperature never exceeding 15 Celsius, we both spent every night sweating excessively. It was impossible to have the window open at night due to the amount of noise. The staff are disinterested and unfriendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Still had fun

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
First of all I tried to locate the hotel from the nearest metro/train station by phoning the hotel but no one answered, well maybe something was said in the Norwegian language which I obviously did not understand so in fairness to them I cannot really fault them on that. Overall my stay was ok but after I checked in, the front desk staff did not inform me that the lift only operates with your room card inserted when going up to the different levels. The lift just kept going up and down until another guest informed me the lift would not stop on the floor where my room was located unless I use my card. I must say I did not appreciate having to go through all that after nearly an hour trying to find the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, breakfast included which is good as Oslo is quite expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice hotel around 15 minutes from the central area

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: The location, the breakfast and the quiet lobby are lovely.
Cons: The computer near the reception is not turned on and if a printer is connected, it will be better.
Location: The national history museum and the national art museum are five to ten minutes walk from the hotel.
We were on a business trip. The lobby is a good place for us to discuss our cases and relax. In addition, the breakfast buffet is delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent UK

Weekend break

Posted Feb 27, 2017
A quiet hotel, but near to the centre. 10 minute walk to the Train station and near to good restaurants. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was amazing with plenty of choice. Our room was small but with all that was needed. I would stay here again. Note to travellers if you like a drink don't go to Oslo, a pint of beer was on average £10 a pint and I purchased a single whiskey which was 19.00! Food is more expensive than the UK, the Average main meal was about £18. On the whole a beautiful city with plenty to see and do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Was well looked after

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Great holiday thanks to the Scandic Holberg hotel experience. Rception was very friendly and helpful especially Linda; breakfast was impressive and had a great spread of fresh produce. Rooms were cosy and the entertainment channels on TV were great watching most of the premier league and La liga games live... Really happy with the whole experience, thank you! PS. I spent most of my time skiing, sledging and hiking at Tryvann ski resort next to Frognerseteren.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017
The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was amazing! Free soup in the evening during the week was a nice touch. Well placed for sight seeing. Our only criticism would be that the furnishing of the rooms was a bit lacking - no drawers, no tea making facilities as promised - but overall, comfortable and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels