Ratings based on 1,019 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Great deal in Oslo

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, just steps from the main pedestrian/shopping street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Really good location. Central to everything. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pillow was horrible - my fault for not asking for another/better. Would recommend to others and happily stay again. The Indian Resturant (Mr Indian?), next door is worth a visit too.
4 out of 5
by Toby

Great location, mid-range hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
I was in town for a football game. I wanted somewhere central so that I could walk around and explore the city, and this hotel certainly fit the bill. The walk from Oslo central station was at most 5mins. There were considerable options nearby for food and drink, and the main City Hall plaza where most ferries / tour boats leave from is 10-15mins walk depending on how fit you are. Your are also only 5mins from the Akershus Castle complex and a number of local museums, theatres and cinemas. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but reception staff were warm in their greetings, consistently friendly, and forthcoming with recommmendations. Room was small, but clean and tidy. One day I was there though although the cleaning staff left the room tidy, they clearly hadn't taken the time to re-make the bed properly, nor re-hang the towells properly. I usually leave any room I stay in pretty tidy, so the amount of effort they had put in was noticeably limited, but not something I got too concerned about. Breakfast was good, and plentiful. Only complaint there was a lack of signage on the hot food as to what it was - it wasn't entirely clear!
4 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto,Canada

Only good thing is location

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Stayed here for a night, location is central downtown,close to everything but hotel is too small, outdated decor and rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worcester

In need of refurbishment

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The hotel is close to the central train station but that's the only positive. I've had better experiences at other budget hotels in oslo. Thon desperately needs refurbishment! My room was battered. Also,they gave me 12 cups (8 glasses, 4 mugs) but no tea/coffee facilities. Why?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenience to the train station.
It rained a lot. Wifi worked well. Near restaurants.
4 out of 5
by Tore

Value for money

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient location very near to underground station (100m). Very small room, no sitting place nor place to put down our suitcase. Bed not good, below average. OK breakfast. Value for money, would consider to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
The wifi connection was terrible, most of the time non-existing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Thon Hotel Astoria,happy that we choose this hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Budget Hotel but very good value and so handy to train station, central Oslo including the Ooera House. Excellent breakfast thank you.