Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for work visit

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Was perfect for what I needed. Flew in previous evening. Stay night, meetings the next day and fly out afterwards. Good location & breakfast
Cons: Gym would have been nice to wind down for the day, but you get what you pay for.
Location: Well located for meetings in banking etc, Nice, tidy neighbourhood with nice restaurants nearby.
Everything very clean, modern and tidy. Room was on road-side so could hear trams but it didn't keep me awake. Very well located for my meetings, and only a short taxi ride from the Central Station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Pernilla, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, Thank you for choosing to stay at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve and for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Pernilla Bertilsson, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from edmonton

not central but interesting neighborhood

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Cons: Bathroom lights were not independent of room lights -hard on your partner's sleep.
Location: Easy tram ride to center and fast cab resposes.
Breakfast is great. A good variety. Forgot my hiking stick and the receptionist put it in a cab and had it delivered to the central staion
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Pernilla, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for staying at Thon Hotel Gyldenløve and for taking your time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the hotels location and our breakfast buffet. I am sorry to hear thay the set-up of the lights in the room was an issue for you. We are aware of that this can be inconvenient for our guests. During the end of year the hotel will start a refurbishment for all rooms and we hope to be able to rearrange the set-up for the lights during this process. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Pernilla, Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and price

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, breakfast,
Location: Vigeland Sculpture Garden, metro/tram, and restaurant choice were my top reasons for liking location. Walkable to Central Oslo
Good location and price. Breakfast was a highlight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Pernilla, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the restaurants in the nearby area. We wish you welcome back to Thon Hotel Gyldenløve! Kind Regards, Pernilla, Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Bad Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Bed way too small for two people, bathroom totally unacceptable! in size
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Pernilla, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the room did not live up to your expectations. At Thon Hotel Gyldenløve we have rooms in several different sizes, I would recomend you to choose a superior or business room nex time. As these rooms are larger I believe you would be more comfortable here. In addtion to a larger room and more amenities the rooms are also equiped with a wider bed of 180 cm. Kind Regards Pernlla, Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a nice shopping area. Not too far from Majorstuen T Bane station. We had a room on the backside of the hotel, which was nice and quiet. Very tiny bathroom, which is typical of Oslo hotel rooms, but everything was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Pernilla, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by NADIA

Oslo's adventure.

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay. The room would have been a suoerior one for 3 people. But the third bed was a very uncomfortable bed couch. We asked for a chocholate bag to restore the ones we found and the answer was: "it's finished ". I think an hotel of that level could avoid these small but important things But the staff was polite and ready to answer to our questions. Very important: we left the luggage in the luggage room for a day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Dear Nadia, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. I am sorry to hear that the extra bed was not comfortable for you, we will take this in consideration for our next refurbishment of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Pernilla, Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by Nils Gunnar

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Hei Nils Gunnar. Tusen takk for at du tok deg tiden til å evaluere ditt opphold hos oss. Vi setter pris på tilbakemeldingen og håper vi får gleden av å se deg snart igjen. Med vennlig hilsen, Pernilla Bertilsson, Resepsjonssjef
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

A FEW MUSICAL DAYS IN OSLO

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Good value for money.
Cons: I would have preferred to have coffee and tea facilities in the room rather than just in reception.
Location: Central and surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. We were in Oslo to record a new CD so didn't have much time to explore the area.
I have stayed in this hotel before and the rooms are clean and well designed. The nights were quite noisy but if you are on a busy street and in a capital city there is nothing you can do about this. The staff were all superb - friendly and helpful - and the breakfasts included something for everyone. No complaints at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Hanne Martinsen, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our rooms and breakfast. I will make sure to pass your kind comments on to our staff! You are welcome back during your next visit in Oslo. Have a great summer! Kind Regards, Hanne Martinsen, Reservations Manager Thon Hotel Gyldenløve
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boloomington, IN

Moderate sized room with smaller bathroom.

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, price breakfast,bed
Cons: Light in the bath room cannot be turn on unless all the lights in the room are on.
Open shower so expect the floor to get wet. Quiet, good breakfast, short Tram ride to the train station 10 -15 minute walk to Vigeland park so don't miss it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Hanne Martinsen, Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jerry, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, our breakfast and our brand new beds. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom and will take this into consideration when planning our next renovation in the future. We want to wish you a great summer and hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Hanne Martinsen, Reservations Manager Thon Hotel Gyldenløve
4 out of 5
by Donald

Reasonable central hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Room was pleasant and modern and staff was helpful. Biggest negative was lack of street parking and extremely expensive parking costs in garage. Good access to public transportation and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Dear Donald, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Pernilla, Front Office Manager