Ratings based on 7,314 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Hip, modern and dark as a dungeon

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Excellent location near Columbus Circle.
Cons: If you're young and hip this is your place. Otherwise there are better choices.
Location: The hotel is situated half way between Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center. Both are a short walk, as is Central Park. Lots of restaurants on 9th Ave.
The room has nice fixtures, very hip and modern. However, the entire hotel is very poorly lit. If you are over 40, forget it. The primary light in the bedroom came from the bathroom. I had to ask them for a flashlight at one point. They didn't have one. Even the lobby is very dark until you're actually standing by the front desk. All staff were nice and the room was clean. But it was very small even for New York.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Extremely basic hotel. Borderline hostel. Apart from the pretty lobby this hotel really has nothing to offer. This is our 11th trip to NYC in 7 years and the worst hotel yet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Hipster lobby belies gross room!

Posted Oct 11, 2017
You think it's upscale when you enter the lobby but the hallway to our room felt more Soviet Union era apartment building. The leak stain on the ceiling of our room was a water view we didn't request! Trying to laugh but won't stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mack, We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however we can assure you that we are working diligently to ensure this does not happen again. We do hope you return to stay with us again one day
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The overall cleanliness of the room was not the best the walls were dirty and the wood paneling was coming off. The bed was clean but the shower was full of black mildew and it smelled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy! Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback. We sincerely apologize the attention to your room was not satisfactory. However, we can assure you, we are working diligently to ensure this does not happen again. We are grateful you chose to stay at Hudson and please know that your feedback is important and will be utilized to make any needed improvements. We sincerely hope to be a choice for you in the future whenever you need accommodations in NYC
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

Excelent location bad rooms

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The location + the terraces and social exterior spaces
Cons: AC EQUPMENT AND ACUSTIC INSOLATION.
The room its really small for the price you pay but we were ready to accept this fact until we shout off the AC and start to receive all the street noice at late night, plus the 8 am demolition machine at an upper floor were they were doing some work. We had to turn on the noisy AC to keep the exterior noise buffle, until the AC started to warm up the room that need it to be cool with the 85 oF degrees nights we had at this week in NY.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish, well located hotel but with a few issues

Posted Oct 3, 2017
A well located hotel, just off Central Park, walkable to Times Square and Broadway and easy access to subway. The communal areas are stylish, but there were a few issues with the room. The rooms are very small, but we were aware of this from other reviews and this didn't bother us too much as we were out most of the day. Bed very comfortable too. However, on the second day we were there we had an issue with flies in the bathroom, which was not pleasant. There were a few other minor issues with the room also, such as lamps not working properly and blinds not opening - just needed a bit of repair. The hotel staff however dealt with the issue well, moved us and offered a slight discount. The food and drink on offer are fine, if a little pricey compared to what can be found in the vicinity. Overall I would recommend the hotel if, like us, you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the rooms and simply want a convenient and fairly comfortable place to sleep. The daily facility charge if $32.61 was a bit of a surprise considering that we thought the room rate covered 'all fees and taxes', but that lies with Expedia and not the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us and thank you for your thorough review. It's good to know the staff was able to assist you with rectifying an issue. Our guest satisfaction is one of our main concerns and it is good to read about opinions on this. Please know that we have made some major improvements to the operation and have ensured that our service will exceed our guests expectations in every way. We do hope you visit us again soon and we can have the opportunity to give you an amazing experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Room was so small and dark

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Room was small! Room didn't have adequate lighting only two table lamps which were not enough! Small decorative blanket seem old and tattered. Bathroom was tiny! Closet was a joke, same with storage for suitcase, clothes or shoes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Overall great hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Stayed for 4 nights and was a great base to have near Central Park. There is a whole foods nearby too which was handy, the rooms are on the smaller side but when you don't spend too much time in them they are perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Weird

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Escalator up to front desk. Elevator available also, down the dark hallway. Don't bother arriving early, they'll make u wait until 3 for your room no matter what they may promise. They want you to spend your money in the bar/pseudo restaurant. There are no servers. Order a burger through the window and find a seat cafeteria style. Or, just go to Whole Foods or any one of a number of area restaurants. Hoever, when u check in, u are automatically charged $30 per day +tax resort fee....so, be sure to get coffee in the morning...you've already paid for it! They dont explain the resport fee to you, so please ask. I believe there may be a rooftop overlook they dont bother to tell u about. You can also opt for the $30 breakfast buffet....what a joke. Overall this hotel is way overpriced for what it is. Can't sit on commode without hitting head, duvet was in tatters. The reason for 2 stars is the friendly housekeeping/valet employees. They want to charge as much as possible and do as little as possible. Skip it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland new zealand

Posted Sep 23, 2017
I stayed here for a friends wedding which was nearby. I was alone, so the small sized room didn't bother me too much. For me the hotel was perfect as it has good bars and a wonderful rooftop terrace.