Ratings based on 819 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Huge disappointment

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The room was not ready at check in. It appears they rushed to get it clean leaving behind vacuum pieces and unchanged bedding with stains on them. First day we were so hot due to poor AC or malfunction that staff could not fix so their solution was to bring us an oscillating fan. The next day, mirror fell off the door. The inside was bad enough, you would think the outside would be better but the feces stench from the horse carriages across the street was overwhelming as soon as you stepped outside. Never staying here again, paid too much for a big let down. This is my third time in NYC and probably my last.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent visit to our Manhattan hotel. We are sorry to hear about your concerns, as it is uncommon for guests to experience anything but the best in terms of our accommodations and their upkeep. We encourage you to contact our office directly if you wish to further discuss your experience. We look forward to hearing from you, as we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you and, hopefully, restore your faith in JW Marriott Essex House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York- Central Park S

Great hotel; great staff

Posted Oct 2, 2017
We loved our stay at this hotel. Would definitely return
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rita, Thank you for sharing your review of JW Marriott Essex House. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a five-star experience. We hope to welcome you back to our Manhattan hotel again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Close to Central Park

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Their employees are lack of attentions, the service was extremely bad with the valet
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear jose, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review. It is our priority to provide exceptional service in all areas for our valued guests, and we regret to hear such uncharacteristic feedback. We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication or shortcomings you may have encountered and we would like you to know that action will be taken immediately. We hope you will consider another visit to JW Marriott Essex House in the future so that we may provide you with the five-star experience we know we are capable of creating.
3 out of 5
by Pamela

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
This was last minute travel arrangements due to my return flight being cancelled. Only hotel I could find - very pricey. Also Hotel almost charged me again the next morning - and surprisingly their rate was a lot less - but there was nothing I could do. About $100 less - ???? Not sure - why Hotel.com is so expensive - probably won't use again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Pamela, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review. We sincerely apologize for any difficulties you experienced and would be happy to help you book directly the next time you are planning a trip to New York.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very unfriendly staff. Slow check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review. It disappoints us to hear that you experienced these uncharacteristic challenges during your stay with us. Please know that your feedback has been noted and will help us to improve future visits. We hope you will consider returning to JW Marriott Essex House for an all-around five-star experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Beautiful lobby and restaurant, nice staff!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Well located for shopping, theatre and great restaurants near by. Easy access to Columbus Circle subway station. Great views of Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Within walking distance to Broadway, Rockefeller Center, museums AND across the street from Central Park. We always stay at the Essex House when visiting NYC!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for the excellent review and for your loyalty. We are so glad that our unbeatable location made your visit enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice without a street view

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Our room was nice as well as the staff being super nice and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear thea, Thanks for the great review. It is fantastic to hear that you were happy with your room and our dedicated staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca

Almost great.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, Shower, Room Size
Cons: Friendlier Staff, Cleanliness,
Location: central park, MoMA, Metropolitan Museum, Broadway, Time Square, etc.
Overall, it is a beautiful hotel with great location. Located right on the southern end of the Central Park, almost everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The front desk staff could have been friendlier, but maybe its a New York thing. We had a Family Suite, which was very comfortable and more spacious than I had expected considering that we were in NY. Considering the price, broken furniture and molds on bathroom calking was disappointing, but water pressure in the shower was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you liked our unbeatable location and spacious rooms. Please know that your feedback has been noted and is very helpful to us. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to welcome you back for an improved stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Great Location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The location and amenities.
Cons: The hotel restaurant is a bit pricey especially the breakfast buffet however it is plentiful.
Location: It is in a prime location. The edge of the park, a block from Columbus Circle, a few blocks south of Times Square and Rockefeller Center.
We booked this hotel last minute due to unforeseen issues at our previously booked accommodations. Rachel checked us in and she was wonderful. She sensed our mood and immediately set us at ease. Every staff member wished my husband a Happy Father's Day upon arrival. We were able to not only book but upgrade to a family suite with park view!! We were beyond thrilled to find that most of our destinations were about a 10 min walk or less. We will definitely book here in the future!!! When we checked out, they held our bags and offered us a key to the spa to freshen up before we left for the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Lmomconn, Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay over Father’s Day. It was our pleasure to provide friendly service and comfortable accommodations at the last minute. We are delighted knowing you and your husband enjoyed a five-star experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.