Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Close to Central Park

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Their employees are lack of attentions, the service was extremely bad with the valet
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear jose, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review. It is our priority to provide exceptional service in all areas for our valued guests, and we regret to hear such uncharacteristic feedback. We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication or shortcomings you may have encountered and we would like you to know that action will be taken immediately. We hope you will consider another visit to JW Marriott Essex House in the future so that we may provide you with the five-star experience we know we are capable of creating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Beautiful lobby and restaurant, nice staff!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Well located for shopping, theatre and great restaurants near by. Easy access to Columbus Circle subway station. Great views of Central Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Within walking distance to Broadway, Rockefeller Center, museums AND across the street from Central Park. We always stay at the Essex House when visiting NYC!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for the excellent review and for your loyalty. We are so glad that our unbeatable location made your visit enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice without a street view

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Our room was nice as well as the staff being super nice and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear thea, Thanks for the great review. It is fantastic to hear that you were happy with your room and our dedicated staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, Ca

Almost great.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, Shower, Room Size
Cons: Friendlier Staff, Cleanliness,
Location: central park, MoMA, Metropolitan Museum, Broadway, Time Square, etc.
Overall, it is a beautiful hotel with great location. Located right on the southern end of the Central Park, almost everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The front desk staff could have been friendlier, but maybe its a New York thing. We had a Family Suite, which was very comfortable and more spacious than I had expected considering that we were in NY. Considering the price, broken furniture and molds on bathroom calking was disappointing, but water pressure in the shower was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you liked our unbeatable location and spacious rooms. Please know that your feedback has been noted and is very helpful to us. If you are ever in the area again, we would love to welcome you back for an improved stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Great Location

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The location and amenities.
Cons: The hotel restaurant is a bit pricey especially the breakfast buffet however it is plentiful.
Location: It is in a prime location. The edge of the park, a block from Columbus Circle, a few blocks south of Times Square and Rockefeller Center.
We booked this hotel last minute due to unforeseen issues at our previously booked accommodations. Rachel checked us in and she was wonderful. She sensed our mood and immediately set us at ease. Every staff member wished my husband a Happy Father's Day upon arrival. We were able to not only book but upgrade to a family suite with park view!! We were beyond thrilled to find that most of our destinations were about a 10 min walk or less. We will definitely book here in the future!!! When we checked out, they held our bags and offered us a key to the spa to freshen up before we left for the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Lmomconn, Thank you for taking the time to share your helpful review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay over Father’s Day. It was our pleasure to provide friendly service and comfortable accommodations at the last minute. We are delighted knowing you and your husband enjoyed a five-star experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
1 out of 5
by Joe

Stay away

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
I paid for a king room with a park view and was placed on a low floor, looking up at the tree line, with the ability to see a portion of the park that was smaller than a football field. I complained about this to the hotel and was basically told to take it up with hotels.com, as the hotel was unwilling to relocate me to a room that actually had a park view or give me any sort of refund for not giving me a park view. I did contact hotels.com. The person that I spoke with was polite and confirmed that if we did get disconnected on our call, she would call me back on my cellphone. We did ultimately get disconnected and she never called me back. I didn't get what I paid for, but this did not seem to concern Marriott or Hotels.com.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. Please know that we will be looking into your unusual experience with our staff so there will not be any miscommunication in the future. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a stay that more closely meets our standard of excellence.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Can't beat the location

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is actually a bit old, but very well maintained. You can't beat the location though. It is right across the street from Central Park and very easy to get to anywhere via subway. I most enjoyed the morning run in Central Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our historic hotel. It is comforting that you appreciated our unbeatable location and proximity to Central Park. We hope to welcome you back here in the future!
2 out of 5
by mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Gateway to Central Park

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The Essex Hotel is across the street from the southern boundary of Central Park- a truly outstanding place. The variety of landscapes that one sees on a short walk is inspiring. Several small playgrounds for kids are available, as well as the carousel and some convenient outdoor cafes. Recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Sara, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to JW Marriott Essex House, and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are delighted you appreciated your time exploring Central Park. Next time you are in the area, we would be delighted to accommodate you again.