Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schenectady, NY

Nice place for short stays!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: I liked that the hotel had a full breakfast, parking was good, and Central Park is very close by.
Location: This hotel is less than one block away from NYC's Central Park.
This establishment was nice, clean, and the staff was very accommodating. I booked the room at the last minute and did not have much time to research it. Turned out to be a really nice place. The room (double bed/twin bed) we had was really small but it did the job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Anniversary trip

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Overall I really enjoyed our stay. It was very close to Central Park and the subway. Walking distance to many attractions and things to do and places to eat. The room was small but fine. The food for breakfast was okay not great. The one elevator not so good but most of the time wasn't a problem. The worst thing was at the end the hotel did us a service and held our luggage for us until the shuttle came but they had no system with it. When we left on the shuttle we left to JFK with someone else's luggage that was almost identical to my husbands. It was a huge mix up and cause a lot of anxiety at the airport once we found out wasn't ours. So if anything the hotel should come up with either tags or stickers of some kind to refer to the suitcases to insure people get there's back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city, central park

Great location

Posted Aug 13, 2017
PROS: great location 1-2min walk from subway and Central Park. Great staff - friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast- had variety. Rooms have the necessities and were clean. Cable. Reasonably priced if you book in advance. CONS: very small hotel. Breakfast hall is crowded due to small space. Slow, single elevator for 14 floors. AC unit necessary to ward off humidity but really loud making it difficult to sleep. Windows face brick walls. Water not available on its own, even in breakfast hall - $2/bottle. All in all, you're not going to NYC to stay in the hotel so if it's not perfect, it's not a big deal. For the price, it was worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Never have I paid so much for so little

Posted Jul 27, 2017
The room was clean but small. Windows exist but there is a wall in front of them and no light comes through. The air conditioner has to work continuosly due to humidity, and is position to blow cold air on the bed. Cofeteria is small and it's a challenge to either get to the lvery modest food options or even to find a table. The only good word I have is for the personal, all helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. I'm glad you appreciated our staff - all of us work to provide the best experience for our guests. Just wanted to mention that the A/c has a swing switch and a louvre that can be positioned to move air upwards and from side to side rather than on to the bed. We use all our guests' feedback to continuously make small improvements wherever possible and for this we are always grateful. Regards, Vijay N. Alimchandani General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Central Park

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Close to Central Park and the street was pretty quiet.
Cons: Needs new linens (bath/hand towels, wash clothes and sheets)
Location: Close to Central Park
Hotel is dated and rooms are very small. Towels were clean (smelled fresh) but had stains on them. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel near Central Park ny

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Staff was very caring and helpful. Breakfast is good, room was very small but clean. Bed was comfortable. Location is very perfect to explore NY
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Convenient location hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The location was what I liked most.
Cons: Clean the entire bathroom, not just what is initially visible.
Location: Great location, just blocks from Central Park.
I have to say that the only positives to this experience was the ease of check-in, the convenient location, and comfortable mattress. I found the bathroom to be quite dirty, the rooms had minimal accommodations and was cramped for space. I also found certain staff to be extremely rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San. Antonio, Texas

Very nice area of upper West Manhattan

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Loved the area. Very close to central park. Within walking distance of everything. Hotel staff very nice and helpful. Room was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Vijay, Hotel Management
Thank you Priscilla for your review and for staying with us at the La Quinta Central Park West. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Regards, Vijay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, affordable hotel on a quiet side street

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Subway access around the corner, Columbus avenue down the street, and Central Park in the other direction. Great hotel for a good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Mediocre

Posted Jun 21, 2017
It had one elevator which was always busy. Room was very smallRenee