Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central Park South location

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The room was very elegant and the lobby quite beautiful; however, the bathroom tub didn't drain during the shower. The hotel is quiet and intimate; a nice respite from the midtown chaos. The gym is clean yet confined. I ate breakfast provided by the on-site restaurant for room service: The eggs and bacon were fine, the coffee was fine, the O.J. was delicious, the bread was not fresh (this meal cost $70.00).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from seattle

Well located charming hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A coffee shop or cause restaurant
Location: Central Park is across the street, shopping on 5th Ave and Madison Ave is very close
This older hotel has a great location , accross from Central Park. We stayed in an inside room which was very quiet. There are very few facilities for guests. No restaurant, small fitness area, no bar, etc The staff are very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Magnificent Hotel across from The Park

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The park, the shops, the restaurants are all very close.
This hotel is the epitome of perfection. Rooms are exquisite and staff is very friendly and informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Very nice rooms & friendly helpful staff.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
wonderful vacation, excellent hotel location, very central & can walk to most places. Hotel staff were very friendly & helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canadian

Nice hotel with a couple of major flaws

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel is wonderfully located beside Central Park. The hotel has a great history and staff who are friendly and knowledgeable.
Cons: TV and WiFi service have to be improved. These days we need to be connected.
Nice old hotel with a great location by Central Park and friendly staff. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately the TV did not work for 2 of the 6 days we were there. Once "fixed" it was still flakey, completely losing reception every few minutes. If it was only the TV it wouldn't be too bad. What was worse was no WiFi internet access for more than two days. We asked for updates every time we passed the front desk and once I even brought my iPad and Phone to them hoping they could help. Although the front desk staff were friendly and cheerful, the problem was not solved quickly and no offer was made to us as compensation. Being disconnected for more than two days with no compensation is unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Kristina Kinet, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you experienced these issues in your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, the situation was out of our control, as the problem stemmed from our service provider, who handles both our wifi and our cable television. It took them some time to identify and correct the problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Fantastic hotel, staff and location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel itself is impressive as any review of the photos will attest to, the staff are some of the friendliest and most attentive i've experienced and are a real credit to the each other. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and the amenities plentiful. There really is no downside, we'd definitely look to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to Central Park

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Overall very nice hotel. Service staff were nice The quality of food was lacking however. Room service served me frozen spinach for my eggs florentine. When I asked for fresh spinach, they sent me freshly cooked frozen spinach,as if they did not know what fresh spinach actually is.
5 out of 5
by Lori

Nyc vacation

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay .Everyone was kind and helpful. Our only regret is just staying one night!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel and adjacent to central park

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Great experience and friendly staff and close to central park