Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Very nice rooms & friendly helpful staff.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
wonderful vacation, excellent hotel location, very central & can walk to most places. Hotel staff were very friendly & helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canadian

Nice hotel with a couple of major flaws

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The hotel is wonderfully located beside Central Park. The hotel has a great history and staff who are friendly and knowledgeable.
Cons: TV and WiFi service have to be improved. These days we need to be connected.
Nice old hotel with a great location by Central Park and friendly staff. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Unfortunately the TV did not work for 2 of the 6 days we were there. Once "fixed" it was still flakey, completely losing reception every few minutes. If it was only the TV it wouldn't be too bad. What was worse was no WiFi internet access for more than two days. We asked for updates every time we passed the front desk and once I even brought my iPad and Phone to them hoping they could help. Although the front desk staff were friendly and cheerful, the problem was not solved quickly and no offer was made to us as compensation. Being disconnected for more than two days with no compensation is unacceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Fantastic hotel, staff and location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel itself is impressive as any review of the photos will attest to, the staff are some of the friendliest and most attentive i've experienced and are a real credit to the each other. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and the amenities plentiful. There really is no downside, we'd definitely look to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to Central Park

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Overall very nice hotel. Service staff were nice The quality of food was lacking however. Room service served me frozen spinach for my eggs florentine. When I asked for fresh spinach, they sent me freshly cooked frozen spinach,as if they did not know what fresh spinach actually is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel and adjacent to central park

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Great experience and friendly staff and close to central park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Waw

Posted Jul 16, 2017
I highly recommend and will definitely return. Clean, comfortable and extremely helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I was so happy and satisfied about food service

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The food was great the service was excellent worker are so friendly and helpful I would love to get back to this hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent experience

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The staffs served us with one of the best hospitality. They were all courteous, kind and helpful throughout our stay. The room and the interior were one of a kind, located right in front of the Central Park with easy access to subways for getting around. Definitely recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Old school glamour and service

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This hotel feels like you've gone back to New York in 1940. The hotel looks vintage but in a good way with exceptionally great service. It's very quite which is rare for a NYC hotel. Also, the location couldn't be better just facing Central Park with the clutter of all the other buildings as is typical.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, New Mexico

A world class hotel without flaw.

Posted May 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: A shorter list would be what I didn't like. Nothing. Housekeeping was perfect and they even went out and found me the pillow I requested.
Cons: All was excellent with nothing requiring improvement.
Location: In the very heart of Manhattan on Central Park. Everything from expensive shopping to expensive, but wonderful dining and cocktails are all around.
Concierge greeting began a perfect stay all the way through concierge goodbye. Every staff member was a personal friend when we left.