Ratings based on 959 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hiking NOT optional.

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Great bones, beautiful grounds. A classic.
Cons: See above
My beef is a big one. You almost always need a car in PHX. The hotel changed the parking after several decades so that self parking is now a good 10 minute walk to your room--even further for some rooms. And only $12. Valet parking is $28/day plus if you come and go lots of tips on top. Parking used to be semi convenient until they installed gates to what used to be the free self parking, then became the paid self parking and now reserved for the villas. Really annoying as the now inaccessible parking lot is mostly empty.( my guess it can accommodate 100 cars) I know of no hotel where the parking is so inconvenient in Phoenix.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Great time with my girlfriend..she was amazed..thank you so much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Legendary resort

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Beautiful property and location is perfect. Plenty of activities and great choices for food. Grounds are kept in pristine shape with beautiful landscaping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Absolutely perfect!! We will be back and stay longer next time. Our 8 yr old and 5 yr old were treated so kindly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

rooms amenities disappointing

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: The architecture and the grounds are breathtaking as it was built in the Franklin Lloyd Write style.
Cons: Rooms amenities. Maybe a Starbucks in the hotel so you do not have to pay an exorbitant price for a cup of coffee or a croissant in the morning?
Location: Location is very central with lots of restaurants and upscale shops nearby.
This hotel architecture is breathtaking especially the grounds. However, for such a high rate the amenities in the room should be a step up. it felt like being in a 3-star hotel. They could provide shower caps, Qtips and cotton tips, nail file etc and chocolate on the pillow...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent as always!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
This is the ONLY resort we will drive 8 hours just to stay in. My family has been coming for many years here and we are never disappointed. They always go above and beyond to make our stay perfect in every way. Highly recommended from experienced travelers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Not as good as the first time...

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The beautiful exterior architecture.
Cons: I didn't feel that the room decor and finishes lived up to the artistry and grandeur of the exterior architecture!
Location: Lots of wonderful shopping and restaurants nearby.
I had previously stayed at the Arizona Biltmore a number of years ago, and was looking forward to staying again. I had a rather large room my first time out and when I booked my most recent stay I called the hotel to see if I could determine where it was on the property that I had previously stayed (they were no help to me in figuring it out). I booked my room with no idea that I would end up in a SMALL (Garden Wing) motel-like room! This room would more than likely be fine for one person. But two people could not possibly be in the bathroom at the same time! The rooms have been renovated since I last stayed at the hotel. Unfortunately, (in my opinion) they have done a poor job of keeping the integrity of the Frank Lloyd Wright inspired architecture. The finishes are very pedestrian at best. Still the exterior and the ambiance of the property are WONDERFUL! I'm not sure I would book here again... There are a number of other resort properties in the Scottsdale area that offer a better level of elegance and luxury at a similar price point... Of course they DON'T have the beautiful Wright inspired architecture as a foundation....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

could have been great was not at all!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: comfortable beds
Cons: Let people know if there will be a noisy event near their room.
We did not have a view. We only had a massive concrete stairway. Our room was small with beautiful furniture, but too large for the room. Other rooms on our floor had chairs outside to sit on, but we did not. We got a text from the hotel the day after we got in asking us to rate the room from 1-10. We gave it an 8. They asked if we wanted to change rooms, but we had already unpacked and didn't relish the prospect of moving in the heat. We should have because on Thursday we had booming music outside our room, it was some exercise group convention. There were about one hundred mostly women in exercise clothes milling around on the grounds outside our room. They stayed that night and started the next morning at 6;45 am.with a whole exercise routine. We did not need to get checked out until noon, so we wanted to sleep in a little. Needless to say, that didn't happen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous stay as usual.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Cons: The bed was made with amazing linens! The mattress was, however exceptionally soft. I found it difficult to get comfy.
My favorite historic property in Arizona. Truly a gem! The grounds are so lovely and the room was recently renovated and close to the pools. The historic tour is a must! The coffee shop is outstanding. The Illy espresso was the perfect way to start every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: The hallways with black and white photos from the past and a really nice outdoor sitting area to enjoy the evening breeze and night sky.
Cons: Quick reno on musky carpets and dilapidated elevators...but these are really non-issues. A quick sweep of the pools to get rid of the floating bugs..
Location: Whole Foods + Trader Joe's about 10 min by car if you get tired of eating at restaurants. About 20+ min. from the Airport & 30 min to downtown Phoenix
I was there solo on a work trip in Phoenix (this was in August so the rates all across were decent which is why I decided, why not stay at a resort and try to squeeze in some evening swims). Worth going to if you're looking for a resort type accommodation in the Phoenix area. It's not too far driving distance to most areas in Phoenix and relatively close to the airport. The neighborhood is very nice (upper class area) which is a bonus because you feel safe. But also, because it is a resort with extensive property, you can literally just camp out and stay at the resort for a few days because it has everything you need. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 out of 5 is because the condition + cleanliness factor. This is to NO fault of theirs because the grounds are maintained quite well. There is history there so the elevators and carpeting in the hallways will be musky with age. For the years that it has been running, it is in great condition. My room had minor issues but was overall comfortable to stay in. It is quiet and almost gives you a sense of being secluded from the outside world.