Ratings based on 902 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The spa,
Cons: I couldn't find a bellhop
The hotel is beautiful. It sprawls forever over the extensive property. There are many buildings. So be prepared to navigate. The room is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I had one of the best massages ever, in the spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe

Beautiful historic property.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The history and decor. The Frank Lloyd Wright influence is palpable.
Location: Great shopping and restaurants in the area.
This is truly an oasis in the desert. It's a storied architectural treasure. The grounds are charming with many different areas to explore. We enjoyed fine dining at the hotel and the many different pools to enjoy each with their own ambience. The room was exceptionally comfortable, well appointed and spacious. I look forward to another stay in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Positive

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly- facilities elegant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Weekend of Relaxation & Culture in a local jewel!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The scenery
Cons: Possibly text/or post messages re: open spa times
Location: Love the walking distance to the shopping area on Camelback- high-end shopping or more conservative - Last Chance/Marshalls (down the street).
Staycation- exploration of local jewels in the Desert: I spent the weekend with two friends at a historically significant resort in Phoenix. Such a relaxing stay but was surrounded by a delightful and amusing history! The rooms and amenities were luxurious and spot on for pampering. On Saturday we decided to take the historic tour and was so amused by the guide (he's wonderful!) and all the information he provided about the history of the rooms, architecture and guests who have visited this hotel. Just loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Fantastic

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Absolutely brilliant hotel. Everything was as you would expect from a 5 Star resort. Only issue we had was with housekeeping coming in without knocking a couple of times. Most of the restaurants were closed for renovations, but it didn't affect our stay in any way. The staff went above and beyond in terms of service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Perfect

Posted Aug 3, 2017
My friends and I came to the Waldorf for a low-key bachelor party, and couldn't have been happier with the resort. The main building was undergoing a renovation, so we stayed in the Executive suites, which came with many free perks, such a free alcohol and food at various times throughout the day. The resort it's self is stunning, with amazing greenery throughout the resort. What blew us away was the sheer amount of extras the Waldorf gives you to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible. For example, the gym has cold towels for the hot summer days, will pick you up in golf carts to take you to various spots within the resort, and will do whatever they can to help you with bookings at local establishments. Hotel is also in Phoenix (on the outskirts), so downtown phoenix and Scottsdale are easy to get to. Uber and Lyft prices from the resort were pretty cheap as well. Couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Waldorf. Would recommend to anyone coming to Phoenix.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Hotel needs updating. I had a sweet it was not worth the money!! Pool, and grounds were in disrepair
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice architecture and expensive

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Luxurious room.
Cons: Not under renovation and a little less expense.
Location: Not as close to the airport as I would have preferred so they could shuttle or we could have taken public transportation.
Under renovation so not as nice as it usually would have been. More expensive than other hotels but wonderful staff and architecture and history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff killed it

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Incredible room, lovely grounds, helpful room cleaning crews, a pool for each activity (lap pool for parents, play pool for kids), playground.
Cons: Passive aggressive gardeners. Bell staff that were always cheerful but not proactive.
Location: Great location. Both high-end shops and hiking nearby - pretty incredible combination. Museums are close. Awesome facilities.
Lovely hotel, lovely grounds. Though there were several disappointments, such as the water slide for which we booked the hotel being closed for half our stay with zero notice given, we were ready to forgive still being charged the full "resort fee". However, having zero bell help unless explicitly requested - this despite several staff witnessing me struggle with my family's bags - definitely lowered my opinion of the hotel. My negative impressions compounded with a gardener, without any verbal or visual exchange either before or after the event, parking his cart aggressively close to my van in a fashion that precluded me from loading my children into it and out of 110 heat. Granted, I was parked in a red zone as a sought shade to load my family of 6. Nonetheless, I do not expect passive-aggressive gardeners at a 5 star resort. Beautiful hotel, lovely grounds. Similarly odd: a gardener wandering about our patio, inside a gate, where there were no plants to tend in the AM when we were still waking. However, I would gladly trade the grounds for more courteous staff (or perhaps just fewer, better trained gardeners).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

review

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: facilites were very nice. Staff polite, prompt and committed
Cons: new menu items.
Location: pretty isolated,
Food awful and overpriced, Meatloaf really bad. Swear that topping was catsup