Ratings based on 1,261 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by william

Almost Great

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Love the location, good rates. They met our special requests, which was appreciated. No functioning wi-fi. We spoke to a half-dozen front desk employees about the outage; received lots of "sympathetic" looks and murmurs but no offers to even check into the problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
William, Thank you for your five-star review! We are glad you liked the location and the good rates. We are definitely the best value of all the downtown hotels. We are sorry the wifi was not good at the time of your stay. Our maintenance resets the routers once a day. We are sorry it did not help your internet speed. Since you gave us a 5-star review, we hope you are willing to give us a second chance next time you are in Downtown Phoenix.
1 out of 5
by Ryan

Employees give false information

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
We planned to stay here for the Chris Rock show that was playing near by. That show was abruptly cancelled a few hours before showtime. I was fully aware of the 48 hr cancellation policy and that this hotel is not affiliated with the shows at Comerica. However, their front desk employee gave me false information about our options. We would have just stayed that night which we had already paid for through Hotels.com but the front desk employee offered up the idea of moving the reservation because "they had done that in the past for cancelled shows." Again, it was his idea and he provided some signed documents, including the bill, for us to provide to the manager when the show was rescheduled so we can stay in the room we had already paid for. He also gave us the direct contact info for the manager. The show was rescheduled so I reached out to the manager. It took several attempts but she finally got back to me. She was confused with what her employee had provided and didn't think she could honor it. Ultimately, she contacted the owner who wouldn't honor what their employee had offered due to the cancellation policy (which I knew about but their employee told me to disregard). Instead, what was offered was reserving another room at an employee discount rate. Bottom line, do not expect good customer service from this place. Yes, they are small and privately owned, which might feel quaint but it apparently also leads to penny pinching.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Ryan, We are sorry you were given incorrect information by our employee. That employee is no longer here. As for the concert, we are sorry it was rescheduled, but the rate of $69, which is the friends and family rate, is the cheapest rate for a hotel downtown. The Owner felt that was reasonable. -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by Marcus

Friendly staff, but very, very dated and kitschy

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has seen better days and is in serious need of an upgrade. The staff make the best of things, but the place reminds me more of the Hotel Nacional in Cuba before it's renovation a decade or so ago. The hotel opened 12 years after Arizona became a state and was the original luxury accommodations in Phoenix during the golden age of film. Lots of history, but unfortunately much of it's lost in all that faded decor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you liked the staff! It is true, we are dated. We are considered a historical landmark. Opened in 1928, our rooms fit the Roaring 20's theme, but now they have cable and wifi. You are more than welcome to go stay at Hyatt and pay twice the money. I hear they have excellent mints on the pillows! However, we hope you give us a second chance next time you are in Phoenix. There are hundreds of Hiltons and Holiday Inns, but only one Hotel San Carlos in Arizona. -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, California

next to everything but hotel isnt much of anything

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The internet, the service, the valet and shower water temp.
Location: Convention center, movie theater, restaurants
Valet guy never showed after hanging out for multiple times for 10-15 minutes each time, the internet was terrible, the shower water temp hovered between luke warm to scalding hot with nothing in between and always a surprise as to which one you would get, front desk wasn't very helpful and unless you are just really excited about a haunted hotel I'd stay away. The best part of the hotel is it's location which is close to everything and that's why I stayed there. Everything else nearby was pretty much sold out. Not sure I would ever go back. I travel mostly for business and was going to the convention center. Decent Wireless Internet now days is a must!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not have a good experience at Hotel San Carlos. Our General Manager and Owner read these reviews, so they will know about your complaints. We are currently working on our plumbing. We hope to have that fixed soon. We hope you enjoyed our state, and hope you give us a second chance. -David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Canada

Nice hotel with challenge

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: not very much
Cons: wifi, room door.
Food in the first floor is good. Staff are good. But the total hotel condition is not really considerable. One can clearly hear the noise made from other room. The wifi signal from the 4th floor was very very poor for all the time. Yes, even worse than the one from airport. I agreed that this is a very historical building. But the manager should think about the update right now. the big leak from the door, wifi quality, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
John, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you liked the staff, and you liked the Rice Paper restaurant located inside the hotel's lobby. We are sorry you were not happy with the wifi or the hotel condition. The General Manger and owner reads these, so they will be able to read your opinion. We hope our location and value make up for the things you didn't like. The Hotel San Carlos is very appreciative of your business. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
by scott

Crunky-fun slice of history

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel can be a fun trip into the past, with the right mindset, and expectation. If you want a mini fridge in your room, insulated glass, a big tv, modern connection devices (charger ports, etc), newish furnishings, in-room climate control, privacy from the hallway, or a fan in the bathroom, this is not your place. If you like a bit of old-timey fun, and want to be in the vibrant heart of the downtown music/food/beverage scene, the Hotel San Carlos is all of that. Hard to complain about anything when the staff is so dang nice, attentive, and personable!! Kitchy cool, old place, with old-fashioned service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Scott, Thank you for your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed the hotel and appreciated the historical nature of the hotel. We are also glad to see you liked the staff and our service. We appreciate your business. -David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
by Rosemary

Hysterically Historic

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Fine hotel that rests on its historical laurels. I'm a sucker for historic hotels, since they tend to be weird and charming, and this one is no different. Our Lyft driver, upon hearing where we were staying, paused significantly before offering, "well, there are plenty of other hotels in downtown Phoenix", but even with that less than laudable offering, it was a fine place to stay, even if it wasn't the largest or newest room in town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Rosemary, Thank you for your four-star review! We are glad you like historic hotels, and are very happy you chose our hotel to stay at while you came to Phoenix. We appreciate your business, and hope you come back next time you are in the area. Sincerely, David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your four-star review! We appreciate your business, and are glad you took the time to let others know your opinion of the hotel. We will try hard to get that four to turn into a five-star. -David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
by Jen from Arizona

Old and small, but clean

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff was really friendly. The hotel has an old fashioned feel due to the furniture, decorations, and overall appearance of the hotel. However, the rooms are small. The bathrooms are very outdated and extremely small. The walls are vey thin, allowing you to hear everything going on in surrounding rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Jen, Thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciated the staff, and they treated you well. We only try and hire the best. We are also glad to hear you had a clean room, and housekeeping did a good job. Sorry the room was too old and outdated for you. Since we are a historical hotel, that is one thing that we will not be changing. We appreciate your business. David L. (Front Desk)
5 out of 5
by Mike

Final Four/Coaches Convention...Classic old hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great old classic hotel in a great location downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Angela H General Manager, Hotel Management
Mike, Thank you so much for your five-star review! We are glad you liked the location and liked the classic atmosphere of the hotel. We appreciate your business, and hope you visit us next time you happen to be in Downtown Phoenix. David L. (Front Desk)