Ratings based on 1,283 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Lovely place with much history! Will definitely return. Every part of the stay was comfortable and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St George, UT

Fun, historic, downtown hotel.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Fun historic downtown hotel in walking distance of bars and restuarants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Dugan, Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are glad to hear you liked the location of the hotel and its proximity to the many bars and restaurants in downtown Phoenix! We hope you visit us again! David L. (Front Desk)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Quaint Historical

Posted Nov 1, 2017
A trip to the past, 1950s Hollywood. Room was small but suited my purpose, close to downtown amenities and restaurants. Rooftop pool was a nice getaway from the heat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Ashley, Thank you very much for your four-star review. We are glad you liked the vintage feel of the hotel, and the value our hotel represents in the downtown market. We're also happy to see you enjoyed the pool and the many downtown restaurants! Thank you for your business. David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Saved 60%

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Great location in downtown Phoenix. Shower water volume a trickle - never experienced such a low volume, yet I did get a shower. Front desk had little idea of where to eat. This should be easily fixed with a recommendation sheet. Very good value for a clean room - about 40% of a higher end hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location and value that we bring to the downtown market. Sorry you did not like the shower pressure. Did you complain? If you let the front desk know, we can either give you a different room or send maintenance. As for the front desk having little idea of where to eat. We follow a basic script. If you ask us "Where should I eat?" we always say "What kind of food do you like?" If you say "I don't care", or "anything!", we send you to the closest restaurant, the Irish Pub Seamus McCaffreys. It is a great place with good food that fills you up. It's not that we don't know where to send you... but if you don't know what you want, we can't help you. :) David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisci

Noise, smoke, and bad pillows.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
There are transom louvets above the doors to the corridor so prohibited smoke, noise, and light come in at all hours. The walls are paper thin so you’ll hear every word of their conversation. The pillows are one size only and it’s over stuffed and stiff; I used the second beds quilt folded over a few times as a substitute pillow. Staff were actually very pleasant and next door is an Irisj lib with good burgers. I enjoyed the vintage style amenities, because everything was clean and in good working order, just older fashioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Hannah, Sorry you didn't like the pillows. We are glad, however, that you liked the staff, and liked the Irish pub next door and their excellent burgers. We are glad you liked the vintage feel, and are extremely happy to hear everything was clean and in good working order. As a reminder, we were built in 1928, so the walls were not made for televisions. We are sorry your neighbors were loud and you could hear noise. David L. (Front Desk)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Walls are thinner than paper. DONT BOOK

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The historical value
Cons: Put noise isolation in the walls and doors, and limit light in the halls overnight.
Location: Not much to do in the area, decent restaurants.
From the rooms you can hear any conversation not only from the wall to wall rooms but from any room in the vicinity. If you hope to be able to have some rest while in Phoenix DO NOT BOOK this hotel. I was pleased to have parties on both sides of my room 3 out of the 5 nights I stayed (4/5 nights were week days) and the last night had no sleep at all. Calling the front desk did not help. There was sewer smell in my bathroom and in other areas throughout the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Sorry you didn't like your stay at the hotel. At least you liked the historical value. Sorry your neighbors were loud. Did you ask to move? You said you called the desk, and that it was "no help". We can't help you if you refuse to move. With the smell in your room, (there were no other complaints)... you definitely should have moved. Did you? We cannot help you if you don't request anything. The front desk is here to help. As a supervisor, I tell the other employees to always offer to move someone. If you refuse to move, there is nothing we can do. We hope you at least enjoyed your time in Arizona! David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Haunted fun

Posted Oct 20, 2017
We came here looking for a haunting experience and had a blast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are glad you had a great time at the Hotel San Carlos, and were able to share your experience with others. I think after reading your review, we should emphasize "Experience".... :) David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

no counter tops

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Cons: great place and good value but since it is an old hotel bathroom has shelves but no counter top which is a little awkward
Location: lots of restaurants and in a very safe area - the whole downtown is safe and walkable with students everywhere. restaurants and pubs across street
great place and good value but since it is an old hotel bathroom has shelves but no counter top which is a little awkward
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the many restaurant choices near our hotel. It is a very safe area, and people love the walkable area. We hope you enjoyed the historical nature of the hotel, and are sorry there wasn't enough shelf space for you. David L. (Front Desk)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Health Hazard

Posted Oct 16, 2017
If you are interested in a vintage experience, then this may be the hotel for you. However, if you are used to staying in very modern hotels, I will definitely not recommend. Imagine walking into your great grandmother's apartment. It has a very old smell, old furniture, thin walls (yes, you could hear your neighbor). Also, on the 5th floor there was a foul sewer smell. Every morning I woke up congested, and when I went outside for 10 minutes, I was able to breath again. This hotel might be a health hazard, but nevertheless, the front desk crew was excellent and provided great service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The hotel is old, and it is our historic nature that makes our hotel unique among the many boring chains. You can stay at a Kimpton anywhere across the country. You can only stay at Hotel San Carlos in Phoenix. As for your dislikes, we consider them part of what makes this place full of character. The old furniture is "original", the great-grandmothers apartment is "comforting", and the thin walls, well, they are just a part of a 1928 building. Remember, there were no televisions back in 1928. As for the smell you described. There were no other complaints. Maybe you just have a sensitive nose. :) You could have moved... Our front desk staff, which you described as excellent, would be more than happy to move you to a more comfortable room immediately upon your demand. David L. (Front Desk)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Oct 6, 2017
This place is more than a little worn but was reasonable clean and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by David L. (Front Desk), Hotel Management
Dave, Thank you for your review. We are glad you thought it was reasonable, clean, and comfortable. We are old, but that is part of the charm. You can stay at Hiltons anywhere in the world. There is only one Hotel San Carlos, and it is here in Downtown Phoenix! David L. (Front Desk)