Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hemet, ca

Location muy bien!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Great to be surrounded by history , and the freeway (NOT!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fontana Ca

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Love the old look of this place, made me feel like I was living the old times. Very cozy, clean and great staff. Will be coming back to this hotel very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Excellent location right in the center of Old Town

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Historical aspect, Free parking, Convenience to old town attractions, Free breakfast, Large & clean rooms, Welcome board w/ guest names, Balcony view
Cons: Liners in bathroom wastebaskets for cleanliness, Add more breakfast items, Stricter parking enforcement for non-guests, Offer tea/coffee at night
Location: Excellent location! Walking distance to all the Old Town museums, Whaley House Museum, Heritage Park, Bazaar del Mundo, Fiesta del Ray plaza
Incredible experience living in a historical landmark. Very convenient to have complimentary reserved parking directly in front of the hotel inside the actual Old Town state park (it's a dirt gravel lot on a first-come-first-serve basis) and you're given a parking pass when you check-in.The parking lot is marked FIESTA DEL REYES - enter on Juan street. Look for your name on the Welcome board at the restaurant - really nice touch to see your name there! You check-in with the restaurant hostess and you're given old-school keys (no key card). All rooms are located on the 2nd floor. I stayed in Room #8 which directly faced the Old Town square & parking lot. My room had one of the softest beds I've ever slept in. Hardwood floors, wood/marble furniture, beautiful Victorian-style wallpaper & lighting fixtures. No closet but there is a dresser. No TV but why do you need it when you're in Old Town? Complimentary water bottles (2) in room. There are tables & chairs outside each room so you can enjoy the view. LOVED the wraparound balcony outside your room which is perfect for enjoying your morning coffee or evening drinks with the perfect view of Old Town! Bathroom is huge and amenities included shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap bars. Hair Dryers are available at the front desk. Breakfast is VERY simple & limited so adjust your expectations - homemade scones, 1 type of fruit (during my stay, it was watermelon), yogurt cups, cereals, OJ/Apple juice, and coffee/tea. Will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Really nice hotel in a great area of San Diego, would definitely stay there again. Breakfast scones were still warm and tasted amazing. Room was all you need, a nice bed and clean bathroom. We were slightly confused upon checking in and out as there are no staff members on the front desk, instead you check in at the restaurant and to check out you just leave your key in a box, without seeing anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Best way to finish our holiday!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Relaxing 3 night stay at the Cosmopolitan. Perfectly located in Old Town, great staff, great food, free parking and Wi-Fi. I'd suggest taking a cooler to keep drinks cold in the room. The hotel is a novelty so you have to buy in to the idea of staying at a period property to get the most out of it. Fantastic!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The furniture was dirty and when brought up to staff they said it was antic and couldn't clean the fabric well. The bathroom door wouldn't shut and the shower leaked all over the floor even with the door shut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in Old Town SD

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: quiet
Cons: continental breakfast is weak
lots to do with in walking distance. Take the shuttle, eat at one of the great places. May sure you see the Mormon Battalion Visitors center worth the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Quaint old hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: It had old western charm
Cons: Better signage from the street for the parking lot
Location: Everything. Old Town, Gas Lamp, baseball at Petco Park, the zoo, the beach, hiking, trolley rides, Sea World
Quaint old hotel in the heart of Old Town San Diego
5 out of 5
by Andrea

Fantastic Experience!

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
First time staying here. Loved, loved, loved it! The hotel while embracing it's Victorian theme and vivid history, still offers the amenities and creature comforts we have come to expect. Great staff! Loved LB and Robin! They were friendly, responsive, and delightful!
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel and staff I would rate a 10. Only thing is the parking for guests was right up front but was not paved. I had just washed my car before pulling in, the lot destroyed my car wash. Pave your lot...